LibGuides: Duke Kunshan Library Resources: GLS Student Orientation: Finding Articles

Finding Articles

Note: advance slides forward and backward with arrows. Click on to expand to full screen.

Review the slides above to learn how to:

Look for a full text option in a database
Use to find the full text of an article in the library
Watch this 2-minute tutorial on using Get it at Duke

Finding a general database

The "Articles" search on the DKU Library homepage, is a good place to begin a search.

General databases are good places to start when looking for articles on a research topic.

Academic Search Complete
General database with good coverage of scholarly and popular articles on a wide range of topics.
All Search
Cross-searches interdisciplinary databases and other library collections to help you find books, articles, and media.
Google Scholar
Unlike the general Google search engine, Google Scholar searches across scholarly publications (articles, books, and other materials). Look for the "Get it at Duke" link to find the full text of any of your search results. If off campus, choose "Settings" > "Library Links" and enter Duke University Libraries. Save this in your settings.
JSTOR
Full-text database of major scholarly journals from their earliest issues to within a few years of current publication.
LexisNexis Academic
Full text access to U.S. and international newspapers, radio and television transcripts; 1970s-present.
Web of Knowledge
Index of multidisciplinary articles from some of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.

Finding a subject-specific database

The library subscribes to hundreds of specialized databases on subject areas ranging from engineering to art history. Here's how to begin using subject-specific databases:

Duke Kunshan Library Resources: GLS Student Orientation: Finding Articles

Finding Articles

Finding a general database

Finding a subject-specific database

Contact Us

Services for...