Listed below are a selection of resources to get you started in researching statistical information about the United States. Also, a subject search or keyword search in the online catalog will yield additional resources. In the subject search mode, look for the subdivisions statistics or tables as in, Asian Americans -- Statistics. In the keyword search mode, include terms such as "statistics" or "tables" in the search statement.
The reference librarians in the Data Services/GIS Unit (located on the first floor of Perkins Library) can also assist you in finding statistical information.
Historical Statistics of the United States, Millennial ed. (colonial times to 2000) provides statistics on population, migration, prices, national income, social statistics, health and medical care, environmental questions, business activity, communications, international trade, and government regulation. Tables are displayed in PDF, downloadable in Excel and can be graphed within the database.
Proquest Statistical Insight includes the American Statistics Index, Statistical Reference Index, and Index to International Statistics. The American Statistics Index portion provides indexing to federal statistical data and coverage is from January 1973 to date. Statistics from private organizations and state governmental agencies are available in the Statistical Reference Index and coverage is from January 1980 to date. Full text or links to the full text are available for some of the indexed sources.
Social Explorer provides a detailed view of demographic changes in the United States through the use of interactive maps and data reports. Data are available from 1790 through the present at a variety of geographic levels- including neighborhoods, counties, and states.
