Skip to main content

German Studies Materials in the Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library: Harold Jantz Collections

Harold Jantz Papers

Harold Jantz papers, 1500-1985: Noted professor of German literature at Northwestern, Johns Hopkins, and Duke Universities, and collector of German baroque literature. This collection includes professional correspondence, note cards, research and teaching files, essays, offprints and reprints of articles by Jantz and scholars associated with him, and other printed material. Notable items are manuscripts about Johann Wolfgang von Goethe and his FAUST, and manuscripts related to Francis Daniel Pastorius's Bee-Hive. Accession (2008-0159) consists largely of Jantz's correspondence and letters, 1978-1985.

The Rubenstein Library holds several of his important collections; read more about them on this page!

Start by searching for "Jantz" in the call number field to bring up works across numerous collections. Or search for "Duke University. Library. Jantz Collection." in the Author field in the Rubenstein catalog in order to find many items in the over-arching collection. You can then limit these options according to your needs by clicking on links supplied by the catalog.

Harold Jantz Collection of Early Manuscripts, Music Manuscripts, and Autograph Albums

Autograph Albums (1633-1857 and undated): Chiefly comprises bound volumes (guestbooks, Stammbücher) of 18th-and 19th-century German, English, and American provenance. These typically contain poems (many original), quotations, and maxims, as well as signatures. Many are illustrated and have laid-in mementoes.

Early Music Manuscripts (1818-1874 and n.d): Includes fife music, Spanish songs, a 19th century English tune book, and a vocal dialogue with text entitled Das Bauern Mädchen und der Stadt Junge, as well as works by Harriette Gould Bark, Johann Adolf Hasse, Georg Philipp Telemann, and Isaac C. Day. I

Early Manuscript Prayerbooks (1744-1801 and undated): Consists chiefly of 18th-century Roman Catholic prayerbooks and devotional exercises (including 3 copies of Crönung Mariae) in German and Latin. Many are illustrated.

Early Manuscript Songbooks, (1712-1896 and undated): Includes both sacred (chiefly Roman Catholic) and secular song texts without music. The collection contains some German hymns.

See the collection guide for the Harold Jantz collection of early manuscripts, music manuscripts, and autograph albums, 1477-1905 and undated in order to learn more about these collections!

Harold Jantz Collection of German Baroque Literature and German Americana

German Baroque Literature and German Americana

 

Click on the link to search for Harold Jantz Collection (David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library)    Published: 1532-1913
 in the author field in order to find the contents of that collection in the Rubenstein Library.

Harold Jantz Graphic Art Collection

Harold Jantz Graphic Art collection, circa 1400s-1800s: A collection of etchings and engravings and other prints. Includes European, American and Asian works. Some old master prints. See the preliminary collection guide for the Harold Jantz Graphic Art collection, circa 1400s-1800s to find out more!

Jantz Collection in the Internet Archive

Many items from the Jantz Collection have been digitized and collected in the Internet Archive! To browse this digital collection, click here. See below for an example.