Ogilvy & Mather: Executive Papers

David B. McCall was an advertising executive at several agencies. He joined O&M as a copywriter in 1951 and eventually became copy chief and then Senior Vice President and Director before leaving in 1962. Materials related to his tenure at the agency are primarily concentrated in box 1 (Ogilvy & Mather Series) and box PF1 (Portfolio Series). Spanning 1958 to 1992, the O&M Series contains correspondence and articles pertaining to the agency, profiles and tributes to agency founder David Ogilvy, and correspondence between Ogilvy and McCall. O&M clients represented in McCall’s portfolio scrapbooks include Calvert Distillers, Chase National Bank, Jaguar, KLM Airlines, Lord & Taylor, Lever Brothers, Pepperidge Farms, Phillip Morris, Sears, Schweppes, Tetley Tea, Thom McCann, True Magazine, and Zippo.

John Jock Elliott was an executive with O&M from 1960-1982 and served as both Chairman of O&M U.S. and O&M International. The collection primarily consists of appointment books, correspondence, corporate annual reports, programs, speeches and photographs related to company meetings and events. Clients represented in the collection include Shell Oil, Du Pont Men's Wear, and Trans World Airlines (TWA). Topics include particular accounts, overseas branches, Securities Exchange Commission transgressions, the profit sharing plan, the merger with Mather & Crowther, a potential merger with Wunderman, Ricotta & Kline, the advisability of cigarette advertising campaigns, and reports on hiring practices regarding women and minorities.

Ken Roman was with O&M from 1963 to 1989 and served as Chairman/CEO from 1985 to 1989. His papers primarily consist of materials gathered while writing The King of Madison Avenue, a 2009 biography of David Ogilvy. Materials include books, articles, photographs, and Roman’s notes for each chapter. Also included are CDs, VHS tapes, and audiocassettes of interviews with printed transcriptions. Original audiovisual materials are closed to patron use. Technical Services staff may need to produce use copies before contents can be accessed. Please contact Research Services staff before coming to use these materials. The collection also contains a binder of Roman’s speeches as Chairman/CEO of O&M.

William E. Phillips was an executive and chairman of O&M and Ogilvy Group advertising agencies. Spanning 1969 to 2001, this small collection contains annual reports, issues of Viewpoint, and sixteen writings and speeches from Phillips’s career with O&M. Although these materials cover a range of themes, they mostly concern improving client-agency relations, agency creativity and productivity, and community involvement. See the collection guide for a detailed list of titles.

Joel Raphaelson served as Executive Creative Director of O&M Worldwide and was a permanent member of the Creative Council. Spanning the 1950s to 2000, the collection contains annual reports, meeting minutes, speeches, presentations, correspondence, and audiovisual and printed material from Raphaelson’s career at O&M. Also included are various publications and presentations about effective business writing. Clients represented in the collection include Dove, Rums of Puerto Rico, and Radio Freak. Highlights include correspondence with David Ogilvy and Jock Elliot and a report on the first five years of O&M Chicago. This collection is unprocessed.

Anthony Weir worked at O&M from 1962 to 1986. He started and managed several offices in Latin America before becoming the Managing Director of Euramerica International, a division of O&M Worldwide. Papers produced during his time at O&M consist of memoranda, brochures, presentations, clippings, advertising copy, and color slides of advertising commercials shot for various clients. Clients include Lever Brothers, General Foods, Hertz, Sears, Owens-Corning, American Express, Sears, and Schweppes. The collection also contains correspondence, clippings, brochures, memoranda, and advertising copy from the files of Jane Maas, Weir's colleague at Ogilvy from 1967-1973.

Edgar Hatcher worked as Creative Supervisor at O&M from 1960 to 1966 and primarily worked on the Shell Oil and Maxim Freeze Dried Coffee accounts. Client-related materials include print advertisements, reports, memoranda, scripts, storyboards, collateral literature, rough drafts, notes, and photographs. Also of interest are two items in the Miscellaneous Series: a 1962 report on O&M’s copy research methods and correspondence with David Ogilvy from the early 1990s regarding a speech Ogilvy gave to the AAAA.

Robert S. Smith worked as an art director for a number of advertising agencies, including O&M. The materials, which are not sorted by agency, consist primarily of sketches, paintings, photographs, contact sheets, advertising layouts, proofs, storyboards for television commercials, and house advertisements for O&M. Known O&M clients include General Foods (Maxim coffee, Gaines dog food). Other clients include Consolidated Cigar (El Producto and La Palina brands), Diageo (Gilbey's liquors), DuBonnet, IBM, Maidenform, Mars, Nabisco, Rand McNally, Ronson, Schenley Distillers (Melrose liquors), and Toro.