Skip to main content

Women's Studies

Your Librarian

Danette Pachtner's picture
Danette Pachtner
Contact:
My location:
Lilly Library
Room 108
East Campus
Email me:
danettep@duke.edu
Call me:
919.660.5886
My areas:
Film, Video & Digital Media; Women's Studies; Southgate Residence Hall

Collections of Primary Materials at Duke and Online

Sallie Bingham Center for Women’s History and Culture
Located within Duke’s Rubenstein Rare Books and Manuscript Library, the Sallie Bingham Center is a broad-based women’s history archives and library. Notable collection strengths include Southern women, girl culture, domestic culture, women authors and publishers, lay and ordained church women, women artists, the history of feminist theory and activism, women's sexuality and gender expression, and women of color.

Rubenstein Rare Books and Manuscript Library
Duke's Rubenstein Rare Books and Manuscript Library holdings total more than twelve million manuscripts and close to a quarter million printed items. These collections support research in a variety of disciplines and programs, including African-American studies, anthropology, classics, economics, history, literature, political science, religion, sociology, and women's studies.

Women’s Collections on Microfilm
Located in Perkins Library, microfilmed materials include personal papers, organizational archives, periodicals and topical collections.

North Carolina Exploring Cultural Heritage Online (NC ECHO)
A gateway to special collections in North Carolina's libraries, archives, and museums. Browse or search by subject to find collections related to women.

Online searching for primary sources

Subject headings in the online catalog can be subdivided into narrower topics by the assignment of standard subheadings. For example, "History" is a subheading that may be used with the name of any country (United States--History) or group (Women --United States --History). You can browse an alphabetical listing by selecting "Subject begins with..." in the "search type" drop-down menu, and then entering a subject heading point in the search box. For help finding books in the stacks, use the guide to Book Locations.

To find primary materials, try one of these subheadings following your subject:
-- Correspondence
-- Letters
-- Diaries
-- Memoirs
-- Personal Narratives
-- Sources

For example:
Abortion -- Correspondence
United States -- History -- Civil War -- Personal Narratives

Databases of Primary Resources

Evans Digital Edition
A definitive resource for research on 17th and 18th century American history and life including such varied topics as agriculture, foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, science, philosophy, the Revolutionary War, temperance, and witchcraft.

Godey's Lady's Book
Provides the full text from a complete run of Godey's Lady's Book, a 19th century magazine designed to entertain, inform, and educate the women of America. It is an important resource for American life and culture in the 1800s as well as women's studies. Be sure to choose "Godey's Lady's Book" in the Source drop down menu.