Photos, Videos, and Other Visual Materials in the University Archives

Confederate Wooden Pipe Bowl, undated

The links below will take you to the online finding aids for collections containing works of art including portraits, drawings, sketches, as well as artifacts and three-dimensional items.  

• Artifacts and Relics Collection, 1830s-[ongoing]: Contains memorabilia and objects connected to Duke University, including pins, textiles, novelty promotional items, clothing, pennants, Wedgwood china, and other historically-significant objects.

• Duke University Anniversaries Collection, 1937-2007: Contains items pertaining to celebrations of Duke University milestone anniversaries including gold cufflinks, a banner, plaques, and a variety of printed material and ephemera.

• Art and Artifacts Records, 1915 - 2005: Contains documentation about artwork and historical furnishings in the Duke University Libraries' collections, as well as in other campus buildings (excluding the Nasher Museum of Art). This information can be used to track and assess the provenance of these items.

• Trinity College Historical Society Collection, [1492?] - 1981: Contains a large number of artifacts collected by the Trinity College Historical Society for display in their campus museum. Artifacts include coins, household items, textiles, and items used during the Civil War.

• University Archives Graphic Collection 1906-2000: Contains a variety of prints, original artworks and reproductions, technical drawings, calendars, postcards, architectural renderings, property plats, and other graphic ephemera related to Duke University.

Collections related to the Duke University Museum and Nasher Museum of Art at Duke University: These collections contains brochures, flyers, exhibition catalogs, and other printed materials related to exhibitions, events, and development at the Duke University Museum and Nasher Museum of Art at Duke University.

• Duke University Museum of Art Records, 1962 - 2002
• Duke University Museum of Art Reference Collection, 1932 - 2001

The links below will take you to Duke University Archives-prepared websites for digital collections, exhibitions, and resources containing works of art including portraits, drawings, sketches, as well as artifacts, relics, and dimensional items. 

Art and Artifacts on DukeSpace: Contains images of portraits, busts, paintings, and other related objects within the holdings of the University Archives and the Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library. 

Portraits in the Gothic Reading Room: Contains background information and images of portraits on display in the Gothic Reading Room at Duke University.

Online Exhibits by the Duke University Archives: The University Archives maintains a collection of online exhibitions that highlight photography, documents, and objects pertaining to various aspects of life at Duke University including sports, student activism, university architecture, and institutional history.