Biblical Commentary from Historic Sources: 100 Years of Biblical Interpretation at Duke Divinity School (1926-2026)

Anderson, Hugh (1920-2003; Duke faculty 1957-1966), Old Testament/Biblical Theology

Bailey, Lloyd, Old Testament

Branscomb, B. Harvie (1894-1998), New Testament (and head of Duke Libraries)

Brownlee, William Hugh (1917-1983), Old Testament

Clark, Kenneth Willis (1898-1979), New Testament

• Namesake of the Rubenstein Library's Clark Collection of Greek Manuscripts (description)

Davies, W.D. (1911-2001; Duke faculty 1950-1955 and 1966-1981), Biblical Theology/New Testament

• Supervised E.P. Sanders' dissertation at Union; associated with New Perspective on Paul
• Papers at the Rubenstein Library: https://archives.lib.duke.edu/catalog/uadavies

Efird, James "Mickey" (1932-2021), New Testament

Murphy, Roland E., Old Testament

Smith, Dwight Moody, Jr. (1931-2016), New Testament

Stinespring, William Franklin (1901-), Old Testament

Wintermute, Orval, Old Testament

Young, Franklin W. (1915-2010; Duke faculty 1946-1950 and 1968-1982?), New Testament

The Duke Libraries catalog: https://library.divinity.duke.edu/ 

Search for:

• Books by Divinity faculty
• Articles by Divinity faculty

Collections/papers in the Rubenstein Rare Book and Manuscript Library

Search for:

• Duke Chapel Recordings: https://repository.duke.edu/dc/dukechapel
  • The Duke University Chapel Recordings Digital Collection consists of audio and video recordings with associated printed material, produced at Duke Chapel in Durham, North Carolina, between 1946 and 2002. Many of the sermons in this collection were delivered by Duke Divinity faculty members!
  • Additional (+recent) recordings available on the Duke Chapel website: https://chapel.duke.edu/archives
• Materials related to Duke's history, in the University Archives: https://library.duke.edu/rubenstein/uarchives/history
• Rules and processes for registering as a researcher (if you want to request and view items from the archives): https://library.duke.edu/rubenstein/research/register

The Divinity Archive: https://divinityarchive.com/

Search for:

• Divinity School publications (internal): https://divinityarchive.com/handle/11258/10
• The Divinity School Bulletin/Review, featuring occasional essays by Divinity Faculty: https://divinityarchive.com/handle/11258/10
  • also available in the Divinity Library (stacks and Reference Room, BV4070.D85 A224)
  • Example: Special Hermeneutics issue, 1969: https://divinityarchive.com/handle/11258/662

“Without religion a college is a curse to society.”

-- Braxton Craven, 1868

(president of Normal College and Trinity College, 1850-1882)

“Courses in the study of the Bible are required of all students, and these courses are under the direction of a specialist.”

-- Bulletin of Trinity College, 1909

“Upon the college in the South rests the further duty of mediation between the religious conservatism of this region and the great intellectual ferment of this age… The southern college, if it be wise enough to understand its opportunity, will work in hearty cooperation with the churches.”

-- William Preston Few, 1911

(president of Trinity College and Duke University, 1910-1941)