Skip to main content

Non-Governmental Organizations (NGO)

Quick Links: Books

The following list uses subject 'tags' in the bibliographic records on Duke's Online Catalog to pull up lists of books on specific subjects in our collections. Click on one of the subject headings to see a list of relevant titles:

Financial Analysis of NGOs: Online Resources

2013 Index of Global Philanthropy and Remittances With a Special Report on Emerging Economies
The 2013 Index of Global Philanthropy and Remittances breaks new ground by measuring and analyzing the financial flows of emerging economies to the developing world, including philanthropy, remittances, government aid, and private investment.
AidData
AidData collects, curates, and publishes data on more than $5.5 trillion dollars in development finance from 90 bilateral and multilateral agencies at the project level. All of this information is available in our searchable database of more than one million development finance activities.
GuideStar.org (Duke Only)
GuideStar is a source of information on U.S. nonprofit organizations. The database covers 1.8 million IRS-recognized organizations and enables users to find a charity, benchmark a nonprofit's performance, research a particular nonprofit sector, and more.
International Aid Transparency Initiative (IATI)
IATI is a voluntary, multi-stakeholder initiative that seeks to improve the transparency of aid, development, and humanitarian resources in order to increase their effectiveness in tackling poverty. IATI brings together donor and recipient countries, civil society organisations, and other experts in aid information who are committed to working together to increase the transparency and openness of aid.
National Center for Charitable Statistics - Data and Tools
The National Center for Charitable Statistics (NCCS) is the national clearinghouse of data on the nonprofit sector in the United States. The NCCS Webster contains a variety of tools and reports to help you learn more about the nonprofit sector! So whether you want to find a nonprofit organization in your area, view IRS Form 990 images, analyze financial data on the sector, look at trends in charitable giving, or download data, NCCS is your nonprofit data hub.
OECD: DAC data submitters: data portals and other aid statistics resources
DAC (Development Assistance Committee) data submitters offer a range of resources covering their development programmes often providing a description of their aid programmes and related statistics in a number of formats. These range from summary tables and reports, to comprehensive data tables that can be viewed online or downloaded. Some provide specific online data portals that utilise database query tools, map-based interfaces and other data visualisation tools. Please note that the OECD is not responsible for the content of these pages.
OECD Aid Statistics
SOI Tax Stats - Annual Extract of Tax-Exempt Organization Financial Data (IRS)
These extracts contain selected financial data from filers of three Internal Revenue Service (IRS) information returns — Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF — collected for program administrative purposes. During IRS administrative processing, some adjustments are made which can result in differences between the information as originally reported and the data on this extract.
SOI Tax Stats - Charities & Other Tax-Exempt Organizations Statistics (IRS)
This section contains statistical tables, articles, and other information on charities and other tax-exempt organizations. Nonprofit charitable organizations are exempt under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. Other tax-exempt organizations covered in this section include those exempt under Sections 501(c)(4) through 501(c)(9).
USAspending.gov
"USAspending.gov is the publicly accessible, searchable website mandated by the Federal Funding Accountability and Transparency Act of 2006 to give the American public access to information on how their tax dollars are spent."

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Monographs

Amutabi, Maurice Nyamanga.
The NGO factor in Africa : the case of arrested development in Kenya.
New York : Routledge, c2006.
Perkins/Bostock Library HC865.Z9 E4424 2006 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: The paradox of NGOs in Africa's development : unraveling their inconsistency -- NGOs, capitalism and globalization -- The genesis of NGOs : the idea, the movement and implications for Kenya -- The colonial state and development in Kenya : background to the NGO work in the country -- The role of the Rockefeller Foundation (RF) in medical research and health in Kenya -- The role of the Rockefeller Foundation (RF) in agriculture and education in Kenya.
Anheier, Helmut K.
A dictionary of civil society, philanthropy and the non-profit sector.
London ; New York : Routledge, 2005.
Perkins/Bostock Library Reference HD2769.15 .A46 2005 Check availability @ Duke
Batliwala, Srilatha and L. David Brown.
Transnational civil society : an introduction.
Bloomfield, CT : Kumarian Press, 2006.
Perkins/Bostock Library JC337 .T73 2006 Check availability @ Duke
Summary: "Contains an introduction to the history, achievements, and challenges of transnational civil society initiatives on several critical issues and the forces that catalyzed and shaped those initiatives"--Provided by publisher. Contents: Foreword - Arjun Appadurai -- Introduction : why transnational civil society matters - Srilatha Batliwala and L. David Brown -- The new globalism - Peter Dobkin Hall -- Who really rules the world? - Marsha J. Tyson Darling -- Claiming global power : transnational civil society and global governance - Kumi Naidoo -- The rise of civic transnationalism - Sanjeev Khagram and Sarah Alvord -- Transnational pioneers : the international labor movement - Dan Gallin -- Spinning the green web : environmental transnationalism - Wendy E.F. Torrance and Andrew W. Torrance -- Dot-causes and protest : transnational economic justice activism - John D. Clark -- The personal is global : the project and politics of the transnational women's movement - Peggy Antrobus and Gita Sen -- Bridging borders for human rights - Alison Brysk and Céline Jacquemin -- Waging peace : transnational peace activism - Motoko Mekata -- Conclusion : shaping the global human project : the nature and impact of transnational civil activism - Srilatha Batliwala and L. David Brown.
Baker, Gideon and David Chandler.
Global civil society : contested futures.
London ; New York : Routledge, 2005.
Perkins/Bostock Library JZ1318 .G5565 2005 Check availability @ Duke
Ben Néfissa, Sarah et al.
NGOs and governance in the Arab world.
Cairo ; New York : American University in Cairo Press, 2005.
Law Library JZ4841 .N33 2005
Perkins/Bostock Library JZ4841 .N36 2005 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: Pt. I. Globalization and governance : situating Arab NGOs -- 1. Non-governmental organizations in global governance -- 2. Insiders and outsiders : NGOs in international relations -- 3. Civil versus political culture in NGOs -- 4. Promoting democracy and governance in the Arab world : strategic choices for donors -- Pt. II. NGOs of the Arab world : between the democracy question and the social question -- 5. From inertia to movement : a study of the conflict over the NGO law in Egypt -- 6. Hegemony and counter-hegemony in Egypt : advocacy NGOs, civil society, and the state -- 7. Islamic NGOs and the development of democracy in Egypt -- 8. NGOs and the reform of the Egyptian health system : realistic prospects for governance or pipe dream? -- 9. New NGOs and democratic governance in Palestine : a pioneering model for the Arab world? -- 10. NGOs and civil society in Palestine : a comparative analysis of four organizations -- 11. Agency and ideology in community services : Islamic NGOs in a southern suburb of Beirut -- 12. The poverty alleviation system and the role of associations in Yemen -- 13. NGOs in a country without a government : Islamic movements and aspirations to replace the state in war-torn Somalia -- 14. Civil associations, social movements, and political participation in Lebanon in the 1990s -- 15. Donors, international NGOs, and Palestine NGOs : funding issues and globalized elite formation -- 16. Conclusion : Arab NGOs : advocacy and the 'globalized' debate in democracy in the Arab world.
Bendell, Jem
Debating NGO Accountability
Geneva: UN Non-Governmental Liaison (NGLS), 2006
Online: http://www.un-ngls.org/orf/pdf/NGO_Accountability.pdf
Bernal, Victoria and Inderpal Grewal (eds.)
Theorizing NGOs : states, feminisms, and neoliberalism.
Durham: Duke University Press, 2014.
eBook (Duke only!) Check availability @ Duke
Table of Contents: The movementization of NGOs' women's organizing in postwar Bosnia-Herzegovina / Elissa Helms -- Failed development and rural revolution in Nepal : rethinking subaltern consciousness and women's empowerment / Lauren Leve -- Crossbreeding institutions, breeding struggle : women's empowerment, neoliberal governmentality, and state (re)formation in India / Aradhana Sharma -- Global civil society and the local costs of belonging : defining violence against women in Russia / Julie Hemment -- Resolving a gendered paradox : women's participation and the NGO boom in north India -- Kathleen O'Reilly -- Power and difference in Thai women's NGO activism / LeeRay M. Costa -- Demystifying microcredit : the Grameen Bank, NGOs, and neoliberalism in Bangladesh / Lamia Karim -- Feminist bastards : toward a posthumanist critique of NGOization / Saida Hódi? -- Lived feminism(s) in postcommunist Romania / Laura Grünberg -- Women's advocacy networks : the European Union, women's NGOs, and! the Velvet Triangle / Sabine Lang -- Beyond NGOization? : reflections from Latin America / Sonia E. Alvarez -- Feminisms and the NGO form / Victoria Bernal and Inderpal Grewal.
Cammett, Melani Claire et al. (eds.)
The politics of non-state social welfare.
Ithaca: Cornell University Press, 2014.
Perkins/Bostock Library HV70 .P65 2014 Check availability @ Duke
Table of Contents: Mapping social welfare regimes beyond the OECD / Ian Gough -- The political consequences of non-state social welfare : an analytical framework / Melani Cammett and Lauren M. MacLean -- Empowering local communities and enervating the state : foreign oil companies as public good providers in Azerbaijan and Kazakhstan / Pauline Jones Luong -- The politics of "contracting out" to the private sector : water and sanitation in Argentina / Alison Post -- Blurring the boundaries : NGOs, the state, and service provision in Kenya / Jennifer N. Brass -- Bridging the local and the global : faith-based organizations as non-state providers in Tanzania / Michael Jennings -- Sectarian politics and social welfare : non-state provision in Lebanon / Melani Cammett -- The politics of informal social networks of community, family and friends in rural Ghana and Cote d'Ivoire / Lauren M. MacLean -- The nayanetas : informal mediators of government services in rural North India / Anirudh Krishn! a -- Private provision with public funding : the challenges of regulating quasi-markets in Chilean education / Alejandra Mizala and Ben Ross Schneider -- The politics of "spontaneous privatization" in Russia's post-communist health sector / Linda Cook -- State dollars, non-state provision : local nonprofit welfare provision in the United States / Scott Allard.
Chien-Chung Huang et al.
China's nonprofit sector : progress and challenges.
New Brunswick, New Jersey: Transaction Publishers, 2014.
Perkins/Bostock Library HD2769.2.C6 C45 2014
Check availability @ Duke
Chickering, A. Lawrence.
Strategic foreign assistance : civil society in international security.
Stanford, Calif. : Hoover Institution Press, c2006.
Perkins/Bostock Library HV6431 .S7475 2006 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: Toward strategic foreign assistance -- Economic development -- Empowering women -- Citizens as partners in the search for peace -- Roles of civil society during and after conflicts -- Strategies for reform -- Appendix A: Outline of country strategic plan for Pakistan.
Christie, Ryerson.
Peacebuilding and NGOs: state-civil society interactions.
Milton Park, Abingdon, Oxon ; New York: Routledge, 2013.
E-book Check availability @ Duke
Table of Contents: Introduction -- Critical analysis of peacebuilding -- Critiques of NGOs in peacebuilding -- A brief history of Cambodia and peacebuilding -- State intervention in NGOs for personal gain -- Bureaucratic intervention in NGO activities -- Intervention on identity issues -- The non-politics around the meaning of politics -- Conclusions.
Craissati, Dina.
New social movements and democracy in Palestine : a model for the politics of civil society in the Arab world.
Münster; Piscataway, NJ: Lit; Distributed in North America by Transaction Publishers, 2005.
Library Service Center HN660.5.A8 C73 2005 Check availability @ Duke
Dany, Charlotte.
Global governance and NGO participation : shaping the information society in the United Nations.
Milton Park, Abingdon, Oxon ; New York: Routledge, 2013.
Perkins/Bostock Library JZ4841 .D37 2013 Check availability @ Duke
Development Centre of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.
Human rights, refugees, migrants & development : directory of NGOs in OECD countries = Droits de l'homme, réfugiés, migrants et développement : répertoire des ONG dans les pays de l'OCDE.
Paris : OECD Publications ; Washington, D.C. : [Distributed by] OECD Publications and Information Centre, c1993.
Perkins/Bostock Library Reference HC60 .H86 1993Check availability @ Duke
Eisenberg, Pablo.
Challenges for nonprofits and philanthropy : the courage to change : three decades of reflections.
Medford, Mass. : Tufts University Press ; Hanover, NH : Published by University Press of New England, c2005.
Perkins/Bostock Library HV91 .E383 2005 Check availability @ Duke
Europa Publications.
European foundations and grant-making NGOs.
London : Europa Publications, 2004.
Perkins/Bostock Library Reference AS911.A2 E97 2004Check availability @ Duke
Feinberg, Richard et al.
Civil society and democracy in Latin America.
New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2006.
Perkins/Bostock Library JL966 .C58 2006 Check availability @ Duke
Golan, Galia and Walid Salem (eds.)
Non-state actors in the Middle East : factors for peace and democracy.
London: Routledge, 2014.
eBook (Duke only!) Check availability @ Duke
Table of Contents: Contemporary Kurdish Diaspora in Europe: A driving force toward peace and democracy in the Middle East -- The Jewish American peace camp: New expressions of the Jewish diaspora; 10 The role of the Maronite diaspora; PART IV Private Companies; 11 The private sector's role in democracy; 12 The role of civil society and private business in the democratization process of Saudi Arabia; 13 Post-conflict reconstruction and the private sector in Iraq; Index. Cover; Title; Copyright; Contents; List of contributors; Introduction; PART I Civil society -- NGOs; 1 Civil society in transition: The case of Palestine; 2 The impact of peace and human rights NGOs on Israeli policy; 3 Women's NGOs and the struggle for democracy in Morocco; 4 NGOs and women's rights in Tunisia: The case of ATFD; PART II New media; 5 bitterlemons: Internet dialogue in the Middle East; 6 Egypt's "Facebook Revolution"?: The role of new media in the Egyptian uprising and beyond; 7 The democratic movement in Iran: A case study of the role of online technology; PART III Diaspora.
Gourevitch, Peter A. , David A. Lake, Janice Gross Stein (eds.)
The credibility of transnational NGOs : when virtue is not enough.
Cambridge ; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2012.
Perkins/Bostock Library JZ4841 .C73 2012 Check availability @ Duke
Table of Contents: Machine generated contents note: Introduction; 1. Beyond virtue: evaluating and enhancing the credibility of non-governmental organizations Peter A. Gourevitch and David A. Lake; Part I. Monitoring NGOs: 2. Why believe international election monitors? Susan D. Hyde; 3. Credible certification of child labor free production Irfan Nooruddin and Sarah Wilson Sokhey; 4. Becoming a household name: how human rights NGOs establish credibility through organizational structure Wendy H. Wong; Part II. Humanitarian NGOs: 5. Dilemmas of information and accountability: foreign aid donors and local development NGOs Carew Boulding; 6. In defense of virtue: credibility, legitimacy dilemmas, and the case of Islamic relief Laura Thaut, Michael Barnett and Janice Gross Stein; 7. Monitoring repayment in online peer-to-peer lending Craig McIntosh; Conclusion; 8. Credibility and compromises Peter A. Gourevitch and David A. Lake.
Hajnal, Peter I.
Civil society in the information age.
Aldershot, Hampshire, England ; Burlington, VT: Ashgate, c2002.
Perkins/Bostock Library 300 C582, 2002 Check availability @ Duke
Hall, Rodney Bruce (ed.)
Reducing armed violence with NGO governance.
Abingdon, Oxon: Routledge, 2014
eBook
Holmén, Hans.
Snakes in paradise : NGOs and the aid industry in Africa.
Sterling, VA: Kumarian Press, 2010.
Perkins/Bostock Library HC800 .H64 2010 Check availability @ Duke
Ma, Qiusha.
Non-governmental organizations in contemporary China : paving the way to civil society?
London ; New York : Routledge, 2006.
Perkins/Bostock Library HS81.C5 A22 2006 Check availability @ Duke
Payes, Shany.
Palestinian NGOs in Israel : the politics of civil society.
London ; New York : Tauris Academic Studies ; New York : Distributed in the U.S. by St. Martin's Press, 2005.
Perkins/Bostock Library JZ4841 P39 2005 Check availability @ Duke
Pinkney, Robert.
NGOs, Africa and the global order.
Basingstoke ; New York, NY: Palgrave Macmillan, 2009.
Perkins/Bostock Library JZ4841 .P56 2009 Check availability @ Duke
Reed, Darryl, Peter Utting and Amanya Mukherjee-Reed (eds).
Business regulation and non-state actors : whose standards? : whose development?
London ; New York: Routledge, 2012.
Perkins/Bostock Library HD3612 .B867 2012 Check availability @ Duke
Table of Contents: From non-state regulation to governance? : shifting the site of contestation / Darryl Reed and Ananya Mukherjee-Reed. Global retail accululation strategies and Wal-mart's CSR regime / Ngai-Ling Sum -- Applying the Atlanta Agreement on Child Labour in South Asia / Peter Lund-Thomsen and Khalid Nadvi -- The extractive industries transparency initiative / Carola Kantz -- Blood diamonds, non-state actors, and development : the Kimberley process and beyond / Ian Smillie -- Peoples' tribunals in Latin America / Marcelo Saguier -- The worker rights consortium / Don Wells -- International framework agreements and development / Nikolaus Hammer -- IFOAM and the instiutionalization of organic agriculture / René Audet and Corinne Gendron -- "Fair trade gold" : prospects for Africa's artisanal miners / Gavin Hilson and Paul Kamlongera -- The world fair trade organization : from trust to compliance / Eileen Davenport and William Low -- Fairtrade international (FLO) / Darryl Reed -- Comercio justo México : potential lessons for fairtrade? / Alistair M. Smith and Francisco VanDerHoff Boersma --^ Introduction: multistakeholder regulation in a development perspective / Peter Utting -- Development and the problematic of non-state regulation / Darryl Reed -- Activism, business regulation, and development / Peter Utting -- Assessing the ETI codes of labour practice / Stephane Barrientos and Sally Smith -- Social Accountability 8000 and Socioeconomic Development / Andreas Rasche and Dirk Ulrich Gilbert -- The international organization for standardization / Stepan Wood -- The United Nations global compact and development / Catia Gregoratti -- The global reporting initiative : promise and limitations / David L. Levy and Halina Szejnwald Brown -- Balanço social and sustainability reporting in Brazil / Eduardo R. Gomes and Ana Maria Kirschner -- The forest stewardship council / Graeme Auld and Benjamin Cashore -- The marine stewardship council / Graeme Auld -- The global G.A.P. / Agni Kalfagianni and Doris Fuchs --^
Reinalda, Bob.
The Ashgate research companion to non-state actors.
Farnham, Surrey, England ; Burlington, VT: Ashgate Pub., 2011.
Goodson Law Library JZ4841 .R45 2011
Perkins/Bostock Library Reference JZ4841 .R45 2011
Check availability @ Duke
Stoddard, Abby.
Humanitarian alert : NGO information and its impact on US foreign policy.
Bloomfield, CT : Kumarian Press, c2006.
Perkins/Bostock Library Stacks JZ4841 .S755 2006 Check availability @ Duke
Contents: Agents, advisors, antagonists -- Ants in the ground, gnats in the ear -- Somalia -- Bosnia -- Kosovo -- Some conclusions from the three cases -- The humanitarian alert in "forgotten emergencies".
Thomas, Alan et al.
Environmental policies and NGO influence : land degradation and sustainable resource management in sub-Saharan Africa.
London ; New York : Routledge, 2001.
Perkins/Bostock Library HC800.Z9 E5398 2001 Check availability @ Duke
Wheeler, Norton.
The role of American NGOs in China's modernization: invited influence.
Abingdon, Oxon ; New York: Routledge, 2013.
E-Book Check availability @ Duke
Table of Contents: Introduction -- The Hopkins-Nanjing Center for Chinese and American Studies -- The National Committee on United States-China Relations -- The 1990 Institute -- Invited influence in the policy sphere -- Nurturing civil society -- The impacts of educational exchange -- Conclusion.
Willetts, Peter.
What is a Non-Governmental Organization?
[London: City University?]
[Last updated: Aug. 15, 2006; accessed Oct. 8, 2007]
URL: http://www.staff.city.ac.uk/p.willetts/CS-NTWKS/NGO-ART.HTM