Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Modern Britain: Statistics and Data

HIST 107B

Sources

 

Mitchell, B. R. British historical statistics  Cambridge : Cambridge University Press, 1988 Perkins/Bostock Library Reference  HA1134 .M58 1988 
A standard reference book that gives the major economic and social statistical series for the British Isles from the earliest available, in the twelfth century, to 1980-81.

Office of National Statistics (National Statistics Online)
Free access to data produced by the Office for National Statistics, government departments and devolved administrations.
Census Records in the National Archives
Records for  1841-1901 are online.
A Vision of Britain through Time
This site contains information about a local area from the 2001 census -- and from every earlier British census back to 1801. It can present this information both as maps of the whole country and as graphs showing change over time in a local area.
UK Data Archive
The UK Data Archive (UKDA) is an internationally-renowned centre of expertise in data acquisition, preservation, dissemination and promotion; is curator of the largest collection of digital data in the social sciences in the UK and houses a major collection of computerised historical material, including the Economic and Social Data Series.
AHDS History
one of the five centres of the Arts and Humanities Data Service and collects, preserves, and promotes the use of digital resources, which result from or support historical research, learning and teaching.
 Online Historical Population Reports
Also from the UKDA this collection provides online access to the complete British population reports for Britain and Ireland from 1801 to 1937.
 preserves and provides online access to archived digital datasets and documents from UK central government departments. spans 40 years of recent history, with the earliest available dataset dating back to about 1963.
What was the Exchange Rate Then? 
Find the exchange rate between the U.S. dollar and the British pound for any year between 1791 and 1999. (From Economic History Services).
Current Value of Old Money
Sources which attempt to answer the question "how much would a specified amount of money at a certain period of time be worth today?"
What was the UK GDP then?
Another useful service from Economic History Services.

Your Librarian

Carson Holloway's picture
Carson Holloway
Contact:
Librarian for Military History, History of Science and Technology, Britain, Ireland and Commonwealth



Perkins and Lilly Libraries

919-660-5997

email: carson.holloway@duke.edu