Skip to main content

Reproductive Rights Primary Sources at the Rubenstein Library: Archival Collections

Collection Information

These collections include personal papers and organizational records documenting the work of activists, heathcare workers, and scholars involved in reproductive health in the 20th and 21st centuries.

Archival Collections

Below is a selection of manuscript collections relating to reproductive health in the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture.  You can click on the "finding aid" link in each description to get a fuller inventory for that collection.  You will want to consult Duke Libraries' on-line catalog for more recent publications and any additional materials the library may have.

Abortion Care Network, 2007-2010 Network of independent abortion providers, allies, and individuals; founded through the merger of the National Coalition of Abortion Providers and the Abortion Conversation Project. Collection includes founding documents, newsletters, and promotional materials from the Abortion Care Network. Includes finding aid.

Abortion Conversation Project Records, 2000-2008 The Abortion Conversation Project was founded in 2000 to create strategies to challenge the stigma surrounding abortion. ACP was originally conceived as the 501(c)(3) sister to the National Coalition for Abortion Providers, a lobbying and trade organization for independent abortion providers. In July 2008, both organizations joined forces to form the Abortion Care Network. Includes finding aid.

Pauline Bart Papers, 1969-2008 The Jane Collective Research Subseries contains papers related to Bart's research on the Abortion Counseling Service of Women’s Liberation, also known as the Jane Collective, a feminist underground abortion service operating in Chicago, Illinois from 1969-1973. Founded by University of Chicago student Heather Booth, the Jane Collective provided more than 11,000 women with abortions and abortion counseling prior to abortion being legalized by Roe v. Wade in 1973.Bart interviewed members of the Jane Collective in pursuit of her article, "Seizing the Means of Reproduction."

Takey Crist Papers, 1944-2002 Papers of this Jacksonville, N.C. physician and long-time supporter of women's reproductive rights as well as records of the Crist Clinic for Women, which provides a variety of women's healthcare services, including abortions. Includes finding aid.

Robin Chandler Lynn Duke Papers, 1930-2002 Papers of a member of the Duke family who held office or was active in a number of organizations including Population Action International, the National Abortion Rights Action League, The Packard Foundation, The Draper World Population Fund, and several major corporations. Includes finding aid.

Feminist Women's Health Center Records, 1973-2003 Records of this Atlanta, GA clinic that started in 1977 with self-help groups in which women were able to learn from each other through open discussions. It expanded to offer a full range of clinical services (including providing access to birth control and contraception, abortion, donor insemination, and pregnancy care) as well as educational, outreach, and advocacy programs, addressing subjects such as sexual hygiene, sex, and sexually transmitted diseases. Includes finding aid.

Susan Hill Papers, 1976-2003 North Carolina native; social worker; activist for reproductive rights; founder and director, National Women's Health Organization (NWHO, an organization of eight clinics providing abortion services to under-served areas of the United States since 1976). President, National Women's Health Foundation, support foundation to the NWHO. Includes finding aid.

Merle Hoffman Papers, 1960-1999 Records concerning the creation and operation of Choices Women's Medical Center and Mental Health Center and the publication of "On the Issues" magazine, all created by Hoffman. Includes finding aid.

Ipas Records Collection of this global nongovernmental organization dedicated to ending preventable deaths and disabilities from unsafe abortion. Consists of Ipas publications from 1975 through 2010, including both electronic and printed formats, as well as Latin America and Carribean Programs material from 1987-2003, African Programs material from 1973-2004, and Marketing/Technology and Logistics/Product Promotion, and Distribution material from 1973-2004. Includes finding aid.

Margaret "Peg" Johnston Papers, 1998-2008 Abortion rights activist. Director, Southern Tier Women's Services in upstate New York. Former President of the Abortion Conversation Project; founder and past president of the National Coalition of Abortion Providers. Collection comprises primarily printed materials that document Johnston's work as an activist at the national level. Includes finding aid.

Claire Keyes Papers, 1985-2009 Claire Keyes was the executive director of the Allegheny Reproductive Health Center in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Collection includes: Allegheny Reproductive Health Center clinic files; National Coalition of Abortion Providers materials; National Abortion Federation meeting materials; NARAL guidelines and publications; newspaper articles; clinic insurance information; anti-abortion lawsuits, correspondence, threats, and arrests; spirituality counseling and other initiatives; and miscellaneous administrative information about the clinic. Includes finding aid.

League of Women Voters of Durham (N.C.) Records, 1947-1991 Papers consist chiefly of newsletters, minutes of the Board and other meetings, administrative and financial records, publicity materials, newspaper clippings, and information related to the political work of the League. Includes finding aid.

Patricia Miller Papers, 1967-1972 Patricia Miller is an attorney, abortion rights activist, and the author of The Worst of Times: Illegal Abortion--Survivors, Practitioners, Coroners, Cops, and Children of Women Who Died Talk About its Horrors. Collection includes Miller's personal correspondence, materials and background information from the Pennsylvania Abortion Law Commission, and general pro and con abortion materials from Pennsylvania and Colorado. Includes finding aid.

National Coalition of Abortion Providers, 1990-2008 A pro-choice organization that represents the political interests of over 200 abortion providers throughout the United States. The collection includes pro-life organization files and partial birth abortion legislation. The NCAP later merged with the Abortion Conversation Project to form the Abortion Care Network. Includes finding aid.

Bobbye S. Ortiz Papers, 1950-1990 Papers of this feminist and social activist consist chiefly of personal correspondence, extensive subject files on international political and cultural movements, and audiovisual materials. Includes finding aid.

Paul Ramsey Papers, 1934-1984 Comprised of correspondence, memoranda, book reviews, typescripts, reprints, drafts of books and articles, clippings,lecture notes and outlines, course outlines, examinations and handouts, and writings of Ramsey, a leader in the field of Christian ethics. Includes finding aid.

Reproductive Rights National Network The Reproductive Rights National Network formed in 1978 in response to the nationwide abortion debate launched by Roe v. Wade. It eventually included about 50 feminist organizations and devoted itself to making reproductive choices available for all women. Includes finding aid.

Resource Center for Women and Ministry in the South Records, 1939-1992 The Resource Center's mission of supporting people of faith working for justice in the South are reflected in the records, which include a subject file in Box 1 about abortion, including materials from the National Abortion Rights Action League - North Carolina (NARAL-NC), the Religious Coalition for Abortion Rights, and religious perspectives on abortion. Includes finding aid

Victoria Tepe Papers, 1992-2001 Victoria Tepe is an experimental psychologist and neurophysiologist, author, and advocate for women's reproductive health and rights. Collection includes materials from the abortion debate of the 1990s, including articles, essays, handbooks, and reviews. Includes finding aid.

Third Wave Foundation Records, 1992-2011 A feminist, activist foundation that works nationally to support young women and transgender youth through strategic grantmaking, leadership development, and philanthropic advocacy around gender, racial, economic, and social justice with a special focus on reproducitve health and justice. Includes finding aid.

Your Librarian

Kelly Wooten's picture
Kelly Wooten
Contact:
Reference Librarian, Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture;
Librarian for Sexuality Studies

Office: Rubenstein Library
Email: kelly.wooten@duke.edu
Phone: 919-660-5967
Website