Matthews, William. British Diaries: An annotated bibliography of British Diaries written between 1442 and 1942. Perkins/Bostock Reference Z2014.D5 M3 1950
Bibliography of British History: Tudor Period, 1485-1603. Perkins/Bostock Reference DA30 .B535 1928, v.2, 1485/1603, 2nd ed.
Bibliography of British History: Stuart Period, 1603-1714. Perkins/Bostock Reference DA30 .B535 1928, v.3, 1603/1714, 2nd ed.
Online as part of the Bibliography of British and Irish History, but the books are useful because each topic includes a section on primary sources.
Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. Edinburgh: A. Fullarton, 1872. Perkins/Bostock Reference 914.2 W749I
Useful for geographical history.
Guide to sources of English history from 1603 to 1660 in early Reports of the Royal Commission on Historical Manuscripts, 1964. Perkins/Bostock Reference DA25.M1 U6 1964
Go to Advanced Search in the online catalog
Under Subject enter "sources," "personal narratives" or "diaries"
Under Keywords enter terms related to your topic
Find Subject Headings related to your topic that include words such as "-diaries" or "-personal narratives"
Parish registers: Look in online catalog under:
REGISTERS OF BIRTHS, ETC. -- COUNTY, ENGLAND
Local record society publications: in catalog under:
COUNTY NAME, ENGLAND--HISTORY (e.g., Essex, England--History)
Use SOURCES as sub-heading, eg:
Great Britain -- History – Civil War, 1642-1649 -- Sources
Use DIARIES as a sub-heading or keyword (or see Matthews, British Diaries, in Reference)
Other useful keywords: Papers, correspondence, biography, pamphlets, manuscripts, maps,
Examples of Primary Sources in Perkins Library:
Record Society Publications, including the Camden Series, the Harleian Society and the County Records Societies These are all indexed in the RHS Bibliography of British and Irish History. Use Sources as a subject keyword in the Bibliography.
English Historical Documents. Perkins/Bostock Library | Stacks | DA26 .E555 1953
v. 1 c.500-1042 -- v. 2. 1042-1189 . -- v. 3. 1189-1327. -- v. 4. 1327-1485 . -- v. 5 1485-1558 -- v. 8. 1660-1714. -- v. 9. American colonial documents to 1776 . -- v. 10. 1714-1783 -- v. 11. 1783-1832 -- v. 12. pt. 1. 1833-1874 . pt. 2. 1874-1914 . (v. 6 1588-1603 and v. 7. 1603-1660 were never published).
Calendars of State Papers Domestic and Foreign: Check the online catalog under State Papers and the reign or country, e.g., State Papers and Henry VIII. Many of the State Papers are now available full text at British History Online.
Victoria History of the Counties of England. Look in the online catalog for specific counties (most are in DA670) Also available full text online in British History Online
See also: the Rubenstein Rare Book, Manuscript and Special Collections Library which has extensive holdings in British History