Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Civil War Women: A-F
This section of the guide covers collections with last names starting with A-F. The links will take you to the catalog record for each collection for more information. Some collections also have finding aids (inventories) in their catalog records. The microfilm notations are explained in the box on the right.
Ambler-Brown Family Papers, 1780-1865. Charles Town, W. Va. and Fauquier Co., Va.
Diary of Lucy Johnson Ambler, 1862-1863 (17 pp.) comments on major Civil War battles, civilian morale and hardships, and depredations by Union troops.
Bedinger-Dandridge Family Papers, 1763-1957. Shepherdstown, W. Va.
Large collection of family papers contains correspondence among the women during the war.
Amy Morris Bradley Papers, 1806-1921. Wilmington, N.C.
Correspondence, diaries, and records document New Englander's duties as a nurse at U.S. Sanitary Commission convalescent camps during the war and her efforts to establish free schools for blacks and whites in Wilmington, N.C. directly following the war. (Microfilm: SW&TF-H/3)
Elizabeth J. Holmes Blanks Papers, 1832-1888. Fayetteville, N.C.
Personal and business correspondence of family of planters and lawyers includes considerable correspondence among the women of the family. Topics include personal affairs, religious discussions, prophecy, stories of hardships and anxieties related to the Civil War. (Microfilm: SW&TF-H/3)
Harriette H. Branham Diary, 1861-1863. Gordonsville, Va.
Diary of Virginia woman concerned with local events of Civil War such as troop activity, civilian life, and economic conditions. (Microfilm: SW&TF-H/3)
Huldah Annie Fain Briant Papers, 1846-1888. Santa Luca, Ga.
War correspondence of Briant is chiefly from her husband-to-be but includes account of the impressment of a local Jewish merchant's merchandise for the army by women. (Microfilm: SW&TF-H/3)
Rhoda S. Briggs Letters, 1852-1874. Elsworth, N.Y.
Letters to Briggs from friends and relatives, mostly women, in Bloomington, Ill., Rochester, N.Y., and elsewhere discussing social and family matters and containing Northern reactions to the Civil War.
Mary M. Carr Diary, 1860-1865. Bastrop, La.
Chronicles the day-to-day life on a cotton plantation and the relationship of the Carrs with friends and neighbors. (Microfilm: SW&TF-H/2)
Mary Jane Cook Chadick Diary, 1862-1865. Huntsville, Al.
Describes Federal raids on and occupation of Huntsville and comments on local people and trouble with slaves occasioned by the presence of Federal troops. (Microfilm: SW&TF-H/2)
Clement Claiborne Clay Papers, 1811-1925. Huntsville, Al.
Papers of a lawyer, senator, Confederate diplomat, and planter from Huntsville Al., includes Civil War correspondence among the women in the family and the diaries and scrapbooks, 1859-1905, of his wife, Virginia Tunstall Clay. (Microfilmed in part: SW&TF-H/2)
Corpening Family Papers, 1780-1922. Burke and Caldwell Cos., N.C.
Letters from Ann Corpening Ramsaur who lived in Cherokee Co., N.C. during the war describes raids by deserters and Union men and subsequent plans for the family to move away from the area.
Cronly Family Papers, 1806-1944. Wilmington, N.C.
Fragments of diaries kept by Jane Cronly and her mother, who are vocal abolitionists, during the war, along with two memoirs of family experiences during the Civil War. (Microfilm: SW&TF-H/3)
Ann Pamela Cunningham Letters, 1857-1874. Laurens, S.C.
Letters relating to the collection of money for the Mount Vernon Ladies Association of the Union. (Microfilm: SW&TF-H/1)
Lois Wright Richardson Davis Papers, 1851-1881. Lowell, Mass.
Correspondence between women of large family from Lowell, Mass., reflect dynamics of family divided by the Civil War. Letters home from daughters Eunice and Ellen, who moved to Mobile, Ala. in the 1850s and whose husbands joined the Confederate militia, record the reactions of newly transplanted Northerners to the South before and during the outbreak of the Civil War. Later letters from Eunice, whose second husband is a black sea captain, describe their life in the Grand Caymen Islands.
Francis Warrington Dawson Papers, 1559-1963. Charleston, S.C.
Papers of a literary family from Charleston, S.C. include the diaries, 1862-1866, and scrapbooks, 1853-1882, of Sarah Morgan Dawson. Volume 1-5 of Sarah’s diaries were edited and published in 1913 as A Confederate Girl's Diary
Lucy Muse Walton Fletcher Papers, 1816-1968. Broadway, Va.
Family letters, clippings, poetry and diaries, 1829-1870, which reflect Civil War hardships, care of the sick and wounded, Negro soldiers and freedmen, and economic difficulties after the war. (Microfilm: SW&TF-H/3)
Eliza Fludd Papers, 1865-1868. Charleston, S.C.
Letters from Fludd to her friend, Mrs. Jolliffe, describe Fludds experiences and trials during and at the end of the war, including watching the surrender of Fort Sumter from "the lofty house of a relative," living in Camden, S.C. when Sherman's army passed through, torture and slander of various relatives, and the family's destitute state at the end of the war. Fludd sympathizes with the "respectable old families of the country" and blames her privation on the Freedman's Bureau.
Kate D. Foster Diary, 1863-1872. Adams Co., Miss.
Daughter of plantation owner, entries concern Civil War and Foster's opinion about the righteousness of the Southern cause and the effect of the war on her home and local blacks. (Microfilm: SW&TF-H/2)
Lois Wright Richardson Davis
The Sea Captain's Wife: a true story of love, race, and war in the 19th century, by Martha Hodes, is about the life of Lois Wright Richardson Davis, and is based primarily on research conducted using Davis's papers at Duke University
Collections on Microfilm
A significant number of collections at Duke have been microfilmed in Series H of the Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century collection. If you see a note that says "SW&TF-H/1, 2 or 3" this means that collection is in section 1, 2, or 3 of Series H. We suggest that you ask at your local library about their availability via Interlibrary Loan. The links below may help with this process.