Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Perkins Library Public Documents, including printed resources from the Census of Population and Housing in addition to special reports, can be found on the 2nd floor of Perkins Library. Many of these resources are represented in the Library's online catalog, but you shouldn't hesitate to ask for help.
Overviews (these volumes are all located in the Perkins Reference):
Schulze, Suzanne. Population Information in Nineteenth Century Census Volumes. Phoenix: Oryx Press, 1983. HA214 .S385 1983
------. Population Information in Twentieth Century Census Volumes: 1900-1940. Phoenix: Oryx Press, 1985. HA214 .S385 1985
------. Population Information in Twentieth Century Census Volumes: 1950-1980. Phoenix: Oryx Press, 1988. HA214 S385 1988
- Ancestry Library Edition provides access to census, vital, immigration, church and court records from the U.S. and the U.K.
- US Census provides access to Censuses of Population and Housing, Population Estimates program-2000+, American Community Survey-1996+ , and the 1997 and 2002 Economic Censuses
- Social Explorer (Duke database) provides a detailed view of demographic changes in the United States through the use of interactive maps and data reports from 1790 through the present at a variety of geographic levels- including neighborhoods, counties, and states.
- HeritageQuest Online (Duke database) includes the original images of every extant federal census in the United States, from 1790 through 1930, with name indexes for many decades.
- Immigrant Arrivals: A Guide To Published Sources via Library of Congress
- HathiTrust is a great place to find full-text census materials.