Skip to main content

United States History: Biographical Information

Featured Duke Resources

 

Authored by John Lewis and Andrew Aydin with art by Nate Powell, this engaging graphic novel explores John Lewis's life-long struggle for civil and humas rights. Winner of the RFK Book Award

Duke Resources

The following is a selected list of biographical resources. In the online catalog, biographical sources can also be identified either through individual or family names or by using the subdivision, biography, with an appropriate subject heading. For example, American loyalists -- Biography. In keyword searching, use the term biography in your search statement. 

American National Biography, published under the auspices of the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS), is the successor to the ACLS's  Dictionary of American Biography. It provide biographical information on over 17,000 men and women "whose lives have shaped the nation."  All entries are no longer living. Print copies can be found in Perkins Reference and Lilly Reference, CT213 .A68, 1999.

Biography Resource Center contains information on over one million individuals, and coverage is international in scope. Sources available through this database include The Complete Marquis Who's Who, the Encyclopedia of World Biography, The Scribner's Encyclopedia of American Lives, Who's Who Among African Americans,  and the Dictionary of American Biography.

The National Cyclopedia of American Biography. 63 v. Clifton, N.J: J. T. White, 1892-1986. Perkins Reference E176 N27 and Lilly Reference E176 N27 . One hallmark of the publication is that portraits are included in the entries. Bibliographies, however, are not available. The entries are not arranged alphabetically, so the volume indexes must be used.