Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search this Guide
Geography (Human/Cultural): Getting Started
Perkins International & Area Studies
International Comparative Studies
Undergraduate major. The library liaison to ICS is
Duke University Center for International and Global Studies
Academic department. The library liaison to Cultural Anthropology is
Key Reference Works
A Dictionary of Geography
By Susan Mayhew, from Oxford University Press. Paper at Perkins Ref. G63 .M39 2009
A Dictionary of Human Geography
From Oxford University Press.
International Encyclopedia of Human Geography
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Geography
Search peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies in geography.
Columbia Gazetteer of the World
Descendant of the Columbia Lippincott Gazetteer. Paper at Perkins Reference and Lilly Reference, at G103.5 .C645 2008
The World Factbook
From the CIA.
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection (U. of Texas)
Many scanned images of out-of-copyright maps, particularly from the CIA.
The Dictionary of Human Geography
From Blackwell Publishers. Paper at Perkins Ref. GF4 .D52 2009
Encyclopedia of Geographic Information Science
From Sage Publications.
Encyclopedia of Geography
From Sage Publications.
Encyclopedia of Human Geography
From Sage Publications. Paper at Perkins Ref. GF4 .E54 2006
Find Articles and Data
Search for journal articles, reports, edited works, and obituaries in anthropology
Sociology Source Ultimate
Search for articles in the field of sociology
Search for international literature in sociology and related social and behavioral sciences disciplines
MLA International Bibliography
Good for literary treatments of geography and space or for a philosophical or critical theory perspective on geography and space.
World Bank Data Catalog
Empirical data, including World Development Indicators (WDI).
CIA World Factbook
Basic information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Annals of the Association of American Geographers
Transactions - Institute of British Geographers
The Geographical Journal
(from the Geographical Society, UK)
Progress in Human Geography
(from Sage Publications)
(focus on radical interpretations of cartography)
233C Perkins Library
US Federal Documents
Recent Books >>
Jun 7, 2019 10:37 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
411 Chapel Drive
Durham, NC 27708
Perkins Library Service Desk
Faculty & Instructors
Patrons with Disabilities
Re-use & Attribution
Support the Libraries