Citation tools allow you to save and organize your research. They also let you create formatted bibliographies.
A personal citation library designed to directly import references from multiple databases. In Refworks you can organize and manage your citations, share them with colleagues, and format bibliographies.
Downloadable as a standalone program or a Firefox extension, Zotero is designed to store content in any format, including PDFs, images, audio and video files, and snapshots of web pages. Zotero operates with thousands of sites, and automatically indexes your library for ease of access.
Downloadable as a standalone program from OIT, EndNote is a powerful citation tool for organizing your research and creating formatted citations. In addition to the standalone option, you can create an EndNote Web account.
In this class your ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY will be using MLA citation style 9th Edition - Click here for updated guidelines
WHAT IS AN ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY? From Duke's Writing Studio Handout on Annotated Bibliography:
An annotated bibliography is an analytic guide, or list of citations to books, articles, and documents. For each resource (book, article, documentary, etc.), it includes a citation in a specific style (MLA, APA, Chicago, etc) and a brief (150 word) description and evaluation, or annotation. The annotation is intended to assess the relevance and quality of each resource.
GOALS OF THE ANNOTATED BIBLIOGRAPHY
QUESTIONS TO ASK WHILE WORKING ON AN ANNOTED BIBIOGRAPHY
(Credit: CSU: Northridge Libraries)
Ontiveros, Randy J. In the Spirit of a New People: The Cultural Politics of the Chicano Movement. New York UP, 2014.
This book analyzes the journalism, visual arts, theater, and novels of the Chicano movement from 1960 to the present as articulations of personal and collective values. Chapter 3 grounds the theater of El Teatro Campesino in the labor and immigrant organizing of the period, while Chapter 4 situates Sandra Cisneros’s novel Caramelo in the struggles of Chicana feminists to be heard in the traditional and nationalist elements of the Chicano movement. Ontiveros provides a powerful and illuminating historical context for the literary and political texts of the movement.
Alvarez, Nadia, and Jack Mearns. “The Benefits of Writing and Performing in the Spoken Word Poetry Community.” The Arts in Psychotherapy, vol. 41, no. 3, July 2014, pp. 263-268. ScienceDirect, https://doi.org/10.1016/j.aip.2014.03.004.
Spoken word poetry is distinctive because it is written to be performed out loud, in person, by the poet. The ten poets interviewed by these authors describe “a reciprocal relationship between the audience and the poet” created by that practice of performance. To build community, spoken word poets keep metaphor and diction relatively simple and accessible. Richness is instead built through fragmented stories that coalesce into emotional narratives about personal and community concerns. This understanding of poets’ intentions illuminates their recorded performances.
Below are links to how to cite in MLA and examples of annotated bibliographies using MLA:
