LibGuides: CULANTH 470S: Research in Human Rights: Finding News Articles

Newspapers

Durham Morning Herald/ Sun (online) Coverage begins in 1901 and continues through 1990. All other recent years are accessible through America's News as well. Accessible on campus or through the use of Duke NetID and Password.
Durham Morning Herald [Print]
Durham Mornining Herald [Microfilm]
1901-1990 (scattered earlier issues)

Indexes
Durham Morning Herald Index 1930-1969
Durham Morning Herald/Sun Index 1970-1981
Ind-ex 1981-1990: A computer-produced printed index to information and photographs appearing in the local and regional editions of the Durham morning herald and the Durham sun, the major newspapers covering Durham, Chapel Hill, the Research Triangle Park and surrounding North Carolina counties.

The Herald-Sun [Print]. 1991-date
The Herald-Sun [Microform]. 1991-date
The Herald-Sun [Electronic]. 1995-date

The News and Observer Online Access 1879, 1909-1991 Available to Duke users only. Print indexes for the News and Observer 1967-1973, 1975-1976 are shelved in the Bostock index area
- News and Observer Index 1974, 1977-1981, 1988; Perkins Microfilm N558x
- Issues published 1880 to 1899 available electronically in 19th Century U.S. Newspapers
- Issues published 1991-date available electronically in America's News
The News and Observer [Microfilm] 1880-date

Carolina Times 1937-date
The Carolina Times began as The Standard Advertiser in August, 1921. The newspaper was a weekly, which did not begin to flourish until Louis Austin came to head the paper. The motto of the paper was "The Truth Unbridled." Austin was heavily involved in the Durham Committee. Unfortunately there are gaps in the existing copies of Carolina Times.
- Digital full-text, May 1, 1937 — December 26, 1964

America's News
Full-text articles from hundreds of U.S. newspapers. Coverage varies, but most from the early 2000s to present. Note: This database also contains historical coverage of prominent NC newspapers including, the Durham Herald-Sun, the Raleigh News and Observer, and the Charlotte Observer.
NexisUni
Full-text articles from hundreds of U.S. newspapers. Coverage varies, majority from the 1990s to present.
Ethnic Newswatch
Full-text articles from over 300 ethnic and minority newspapers, journals and magazines. Coverage 1959 to present.

America's Historical Newspapers
Full-text digital images of American newspapers published from 1690-1922.
Newspapers.com
Search for news articles from thousands of local US newspapers from the 1700s to the 2000s.
19th Century U.S. Newspapers
Collection of 500 U.S. newspapers published in the 19th century.
African American Newspapers
Search across the full-text of African-American newspapers published from 1827 to 1998.
African American Newspapers: the 19th Century
Full-text access to the major African-American newspapers published in the United States during the 19th century.
Hispanic American Newspapers
Full-text digital images of a large collection of Spanish-language newspapers published in the U.S. Coverage from 1808 to 1980.