LibGuides: Generative AI + Second Language Acquisition: Academic Articles

Databases

Academic Search Complete
Search for journal articles, books, reports and conference proceedings for many subjects
Education Database
Search for articles covering primary, secondary, higher education and related topics
Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Search for articles and reports of U.S. and international education research, including research on higher education
ERIC (EbscoHost)
Search for journal articles and reports in education
Scopus
Search peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
Web of Science
Search for articles from scholarly journals in all areas of research

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI Online)
Search for journal articles on Latin America, the Caribbean, the U.S.-Mexican border, and Hispanics in the U.S.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Search for articles on linguistics, phonetics, speech, communication, sociolinguistics, philosophy of language, hearing and speech physiology, and more.
Linguistics Database
Provides access to full-text journals and other sources in linguistics. It covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics

Search Language in Databases and Journals

Combine the term Artificial Intelligence or Computer Sciences with Second Language Acquisition or specific aspects of research Duke ARTICLES search box on the library homepage:

Adoption
Assessment
Language learning
Language instruction
Language modeling
Language proficiency
Learning management systems
Second language instruction
Second language learning
Second language tutoring
Second language writing instruction
Writing assessment

Below are some sample articles for these search strings

Special Issue

Language Learning @ Technology., Volume 28, 2024: Artificial Intelligence and Language Learning

Dávila Macías, Araceli M., et al. "The Potential of Artificial Intelligence to Improve Speaking Skills in a Second Language (English) Fluently." Ciencia Latina: Revista Multidisciplinar, vol. 8, no. 3, 2024, pp. 3826-3836.

Dodigovic, Marina. "Artificial Intelligence and Second Language Learning: An Efficient Approach to Error Remediation." Language Awareness, vol. 16, no. 2, 2007, pp. 99-113.

Yazdani, Masoud. "The Linger Project: An Artificial Intelligence Approach to Second-Language Tutoring." Computer Assisted Language Learning, vol. 4, no. 2, 1991, pp. 107-116.

Almelhes, Sultan A. "A Review of Artificial Intelligence Adoption in Second-Language Learning." Theory and Practice in Language Studies, vol. 13, no. 5, 2023, pp. 1259-1269.

Jiang, Zilu, et al. "Exploring the Role of Artificial Intelligence in Facilitating Assessment of Writing Performance in Second Language Learning." Languages (Basel), vol. 8, no. 4, 2023, pp. 247.

Lemnaru, Ana C. "role of Artificial Intelligence in Learning Romanian as a Second Language for International Students."Journal of Romanian Literay Studies, no. 34, 2023, pp. 443-447.

Kannan, Jaya, and Pilar Munday. "New Trends in Second Language Learning and Teaching through the Lens of ICT, Networked Learning, and Artificial Intelligence." Círculo De Lingüística Aplicada a La Comunicación, vol. 76, no. 76, 2018, pp. 13-30.

Yang, Hongzhi, and Suna Kyun. "The Current Research Trend of Artificial Intelligence in Language Learning : A Systematic Empirical Literature Review from an Activity Theory Perspective." Australasian Journal of Educational Technology, vol. 38, no. 5, 2022, pp. 180-210.

Law, Locky. "Application of Generative Artificial Intelligence (GenAI) in Language Teaching and Learning: A Scoping Literature Review." Computers and Education Open, vol. 6, 2024, pp. 100174.

Ali, Zuraina. "Artificial Intelligence (AI): A Review of its Uses in Language Teaching and Learning." IOP Conference Series. Materials Science and Engineering, vol. 769, no. 1, 2020, pp. 12043.

Oluwafemi Ayotunde, Oke, Dashty I. Jamil, and Nadire Cavus. "the Impact of Artificial Intelligence in Foreign Language Learning using Learning Management Systems: A Systematic Literature Review." Information Technologies and Learning Tools, vol. 95, no. 3, 2023, pp. 215-228.