at the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library
Tintype of Irene Leach Craven, undated, from the Artifacts and Relics collection, 1830s-ongoing, box [#].
Trinity College (Randolph County, N.C.) collection, 1839-1992
This collection consists of administrative, academic, and financial records. Materials include accounting ledgers, roll books, student lists and rosters. This artificial collection is made up of donated and library-created original items, copies, transcripts, and drafts of resources to be used as a reference collection in the reading room. The provenance of original items is unknown in most cases.
Trinity College (Durham, N.C.) Reference collection, 1889-1992
The collection contains printed matter including brochures, bulletins, hymns, etc. as well as correspondence and subject files on Trinity College (Durham, N.C.). The provenance for most the material is unknown and was put together in this collection by Archives staff for research and reference use. The material ranges in date from 1889-1992.
President Flowers' personal and family papers.
With materials gathered by University Archives staff, the Biographical Reference Collection contains folders of newspaper clippings, photocopies from reference sources, texts of speeches, and more for each of Duke's presidents through Nannerl O. Keohane. The presidents listed include those who served as presidents after the university's time in Randolph County, but include their records when they were served in other roles in administration or as professors. Folders about President Craven and selected family members may be found in Boxes 6 and 8; a folder about President Wood may be found in Box 27; a folder about President Crowell may be found in Box 7; a folder on President Kilgo may be found in Box 15; several folders about President Few and his family may be found in Box 10; folders about President Flowers and selected family members may be found in Boxes 11 and 24.
Board of Trustees records, 1860-ongoing
The Board of Trustees of Duke University was originally formed when the Union Institute Society's 1839 constitution established a body with responsibility for the oversight of the affairs of Union Institute Academy of Randolph County, North Carolina.
John Franklin Heitman papers, 1863-1911
John Franklin Heitman (1840-1904) was professor of Trinity College in Randolph County from 1883 to 1892, and Acting President of the school from 1884-1887.
John W. Alspaugh papers, 1875-1898
John Wesley Alspaugh was a lawyer, editor, and civic leader in Winston-Salem, N.C. A key supporter of Trinity College (Randolph County, N.C), he served as chairman of the Board of Trustees and as a member of the Committee of Management, which ran the school from 1884 to 1887.
Julian Shakespeare Carr papers, 1880-1982
Julian Carr was a tobacco and textile manufacturer and civic leader of Durham (Durham Co.), N.C. He also served on the Board of Trustees of Trinity College (Randolph County, N.C.).
William Howell Pegram (1846-1928) was a student, professor, and administrator at Trinity College (N.C.). He moved with the school from Randolph County to Durham County (N.C.), and remained active as Trinity College evolved into Duke University.
William T. Gannaway papers, 1853-1906
William Gannaway was a Professor of Latin and History at Trinity College in Randolph County from 1857 until his retirement in 1892. The collection includes account books and grade books as well as a small amount of correspondence and notes.
Charles Jones Soong Reference collection, 1882-1995
Han Chiao-shun (Charles "Charlie" Jones Soong) was Trinity College's first international student. Soong, who had expressed interest in securing an education and returning to China as a missionary, received aid from General Julian S. Carr of Durham who financed his education at Trinity College, Duke University's forerunner.
Columbian and Hesperian Literary Society records, 1848-1942
The Columbia Literary Society was first organized in 1846 at Union Institute. The Society grew with the school, witnessing the founding of Trinity College and its development into Duke University. In 1881, the CLS started the College Herald, forerunner of the Chronicle.
The Hesperian Literary Society was founded in 1851 at the suggestion of President Craven, because in his opinion, all first class colleges had two societies. According to tradition, it was called "Hesperian" because it was originally intended to be joined by boys from Western North Carolina.
Dred and Ella Carr Peacock Scrapbooks, 1849-1903
This collection contains 7 scrapbooks and one notebook listing articles. It is unclear as to which Peacock created them, as both Dred and Ella had strong ties to the main subjects: Greensboro Female College and Trinity College (now Duke University).
Duke University Anniversaries collection, 1937-2000
The Duke University Anniversaries Collection includes correspondence, clippings, photographs, printed matter, programs, speeches, a sound recording, a diary, acknowledgements from other institutions, a time capsule, and other materials relating to events commemorating the beginnings and founding of Duke University.
Elliott, Benjamin P. Papers, 1805-1886
Letters covering a complete generation of the Elliott family and relating to the founding of Trinity College (now Duke University); Braxton Craven's publication, the "Southern Index;" gold mining in North Carolina; the Civil War; Reconstruction; economic growth of North Carolina; and state politics.
Erasmus Coston papers, 1744-1939
The letters and items in the collection are mixed and at times lack context or cohesion, but of interest are papers pertaining to Methodism in North Carolina during the Civil War and Reconstruction periods. Letters from D.C. Johnson describe student life at Trinity College (later Duke University) in the late 1860s-1870s, including mention of secret and literary societies, prayer meetings, and boarding in the local community around the college.
Giles, Mary Zilpha. Papers, 1846-1942
Letters and papers of Mary Giles concerning her education at Trinity College in Randolph County, N.C. (now Duke University), in the 1870s, which was done at home with members of the faculty as tutors.
"Leaflets of Memory from my Friends" is an album containing written comments by friends of I. L. Wright, upon his graduation from Normal College in 1854. Normal College is a predecessor to Duke University.
Leach Family papers, 1798-1994
The Leach family joined other white families in Randolph County to improve the local school, Brown's Schoolhouse, and continued to be involved with the school through to its development into Trinity College.
Robert Lee Durham papers, 1888-1946
Robert Lee Durham was a star athlete who graduated from Trinity College in 1891. His collection contains correspondence, manuscripts of orations and songs, clippings and other printed materials.
Snead, Thomas D. Papers, 1856-1871
Papers of Thomas D. Snead contain letters commenting on the military preparations at Trinity College in 1861.
Theological Society records, 1870-1893
The Trinity College Theological Society was founded in 1870 and was the precursor to the Divinity School.
Tomlinson Store Ledger B, 1834-1848
Tomlinson Store was a steam tanning works, shoemaking establishment and general store run by Allen U. Tomlinson in Randolph County, NC. Ledger B contains accounts of the Methodist and Quaker families that formed Union Institute as well as Brantley York and school faculty.
Warren, Dan. What We Have Builded: A Tour of the Historic Trinity College Community
Compilation of historical facts and photographs on/about Trinity College (Randolph County., N.C.) used to supplement a tour of sites and locations related to Trinity College, prior to its move to Durham.
William Clark Doub papers, 1778-1917
Personal, family, and professional correspondence and papers of various members of the Doub family, particularly Peter Doub and brother Michael Doub, both Methodist ministers, and Peter's son, William Clark Doub. The papers for 1820-1870 include personal and business letters, including those that stress the Methodist church's educational achievements and describing the origins of several Methodist schools, including Trinity College (now Duke University).
