Skip to Main Content

Business and the Environment: Companies, Industries,and Products

An overview of the Duke resources available on environmental concerns as well as emerging technologies addressing them.

Company databases

  • Bloomberg - Comprehensive financial and news information system.
  • CBInsights - a global market intelligence platform that analyzes data on venture capital, startups, patents, partnerships, news, and more.
  • Factset - provides access to comprehensive news, data, and analytics on global financial markets, economics, companies and industries.
  • Mergent Online - Contains financial details of over 14,000 active and inactive U.S. public companies listed on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ exchanges. Archival data includes full business descriptions, histories and financial statements for more than 12,000 US companies that were acquired, went bankrupt, liquidated or merged out of existence from 1996 onward. International Company Data - covers over 27,000 non-U.S. active and inactive companies. Archival data includes financial information on 12,000 non-U.S. companies that were acquired, went bankrupt, liquidated or merged from 1995 onward.
  • ORBIS web - ORBIS covers over 400 million companies worldwide, with an emphasis on private company information, integrating information held across BvDEP's company information product range. ORBIS provides global standard report formats as well as descriptive information, and company financials, along with news, market research, ratings and country reports, scanned reports, ownership and M&A data.
  • Pitchbook - includes thousands of private equity and venture capital deals by hundreds of criteria. You can also use PitchBook to establish benchmarks, find real time data on deals, identify and analyze comparables, and search investor details.
  • Preqin Pro - provides access to private equity databases covering all aspects of the industry for all fund types, including buyout, venture capital, mezzanine, distressed, fund of funds, secondaries, natural resources and others. Preqin products cover fund performance, fundraising, buyout deals, fund manager profiles, fund terms and conditions, as well as institutional investors in private equity.
  • Privco - provides detailed business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies.
  • Refinitiv Workspace - contains market data, company financials and filings, ESG data, earnings estimates, transaction data, analyst research, and more. RWS replaces Thomson ONE and provides access to similar content.
  • S&P Capital IQ - contains comprehensive fundamental and quantitative company research and analysis.  Covers both public and private US and international companies as well as nonprofit, non governmental organizations, and some government agencies.

Terms of Use

NOTE, the terms of use for the databases on this page include restricting research to academic purposes only; passwords must remain private, do not share them; and no excessive downloading or scraping of content.  More information can be located on our Database Terms of Use page.

Industries, Sectors, and Products databases

This is a select list of those resources most useful for those interested broad industries, such as automobile manufacturing, or environmental and climate sectors, such as renewable energy.  A complete list of all Ford Library databases can be located here:  https://library.fuqua.duke.edu/databases/index.php

  • American Energy Society - The American Energy Society Member Portal provides non-partisan energy news, insights, reports and data. AES represents over 135,000 energy professionals in every field and sector in academia, national laboratories, government, and industry in the United States and internationally. Selected content under the Services menu of the Member Portal includes: energy ecosystem maps, and both internally and externally sourced datasets covering carbon capture and industrial/manufacturing energy efficiency.
  • BCC Research - BCC's market research reports explore major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology organizations. Duke currently subscribes to all report categories. Select a topic under the "My Categories" section after connecting to browse reports.
  • IBISWorld - Provides an extensive collection of industry market research and industry risk ratings on U.S. industries. Reports focus on industry performance, outlook, products & markets, competitive landscape, major companies, operating conditions, and key statistics.
  • MarketLine Advantage - Contains full text market research reports focusing on companies and broad industry sectors: consumer goods, energy, finance, healthcare, and technology. Market analysis and forecasting looks at major issues and threats for each sector with analytical commentary and data.
  • MarketsandMarkets Knowledge Store - Provides detailed niche market research reports on current mega trends and industries; including but not limited to: AI, Big Data & Analytics, Blockchain, IoT, Nanotechnology, and Wearables. Covered industries include Aerospace & Defense, Automotive, Banking, Agriculture and more.
  • MarketResearch.com -  includes full-text market research reports on : Consumer Goods, Heavy Industry, Service Industries, the Public Sector, Life Sciences, Technology & Media, and Demographics.

 

ESG Sources

  • Refinitiv ESG Data via WRDS - ESG Scores from Refinitiv are designed to transparently and objectively measure a company's relative ESG performance, commitment and effectiveness across 10 main themes (emissions, environmental product innovation, human rights, shareholders, etc.) based on publicly-reported data. Data modules include: company screening data, company summary data, industry aggregates, category data, driver & outcome data, and board member data. After connecting to WRDS, select Get Data > Thomson/Refinitiv > Refinitiv ESG
  • RepRisk - A comprehensive dataset covering the environmental, social, and governance (ESG) risks and business conduct of about 180,000 listed and unlisted companies. 
  • S&P Global ESG Scores - an environmental, social and governance dataset that provides company level, dimension level, and criteria level scores based on the S&P Global Corporate Sustainability Assessment (CSA) process and publicly available sources, allowing research on impact to a company's business value drivers, including growth, profitability, capital efficiency, and risk exposure. After connecting to WRDS, select Get Data > Compustat-Capital IQ > Trucost and S&P Global ESG Scores
  • Trucost Climate Analytics - through company-level analysis, assess exposure to seven climate-change physical risk indicators, analyze exposure to carbon pricing risk under different future climate change scenarios and evaluate alignment with the Paris Agreement goal to limit global warming to well below 2 degrees C from pre-industrial levels. After connecting to WRDS, select Get Data > Compustat-Capital IQ > Climate Analytics
  • Trucost Environmental - Measure environmental impact across key dimensions for over 15,000 companies to assess environmental costs, identify, and manage environmental and climate risk as well as conduct peer and portfolio analysis from a climate and environmental perspective.After connecting to WRDS, select Get Data > Compustat-Capital IQ > Trucost Environmental