LibGuides: Writing 101: Experiments in Writing About Music: Finding Articles

Find Articles

To search for journals, you can go to Duke Libraries' Online Journals page, or use one of the following databases to find articles:

Rock's Backpages This link opens in a new window
Search for articles and interviews related to rock music
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times This link opens in a new window
Search for news articles from the New York Times from 1851-2019
ProQuest Recent Newspapers: The New York Times This link opens in a new window
Search full-text coverage of the New York Times from 2008 - present.
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on a wide variety of musical periods and styles
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search a collection of important scholarly journals representing a range of disciplines.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search for articles, books, dissertations, and performance reviews in music from 1800s to present
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly literature from a range of disciplines; many articles available through Duke Libraries. Add Duke Libraries under 'Library Links' in your GS settings.

Rolling Stone
Major news source for rock criticism.

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Major periodicals revealing the history of film, broadcasting, popular music, theatre, and video gaming, from the 19th century to the 21st.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from scholarly journals in all areas of research
PsycInfo (APA) This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Search for news, business, legal, medical, and congressional information. Note: formerly named Lexis Nexis Academic.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Search for articles in ethnic and minority newspapers, journals and magazines from 1959 to present
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Search for articles in women and gender studies newspapers, journals and magazines from 1970 to present
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Search dissertations and theses from colleges and universities around the world from 1743 to present. Full text theses from 1997-present

Research Databases at Duke
Gateway to all databases at Duke in a variety of disciplines.

Album Reviews

You can search CDs and vinyl records on the Music Library homepage. Click the "recordings only" button to limit search to CDs and records.

Many CDs have liner notes with information and musical analysis.

You can search album reviews on these websites:

NME: New Musical Express
Full text from 2017 also available through Nexis Uni: https://find.library.duke.edu/catalog/DUKE004405519
Pitchfork
Album reviews
Rolling Stone Album Reviews
NPR Music Reviews
Reviews and news from National Public Radio
Dusted
Album reviews

Finding a subject-specific database

The library subscribes to hundreds of specialized databases on subject areas ranging from engineering to art history. Here's how to begin using subject-specific databases:

Finding Specific Articles, Journals, and Databases

Find the full text of a specific article by using the library's Articles search.
Find specific journals by title (ex. Social Science & Medicine) using the Online Journal Titles page.
Find specific research databases (ex. Pubmed) using the Research Databases page.

Can't find the article? Request articles that Duke doesn't own using interlibrary requests.