Skip to Main Content
Franklin Research Center Collections
Rubenstein Library Special Collections
- Edgar Dinsmore papers, 1864-1865
- Ruth E. Wallace papers, 1943-1944
- Edward W. Kinsley correspondence, 1862-1889
- United States 2nd Colored Calvary Regiment orders and morning reports, 1864-1866
- United States Army 46th Colored Infantry Unit muster and pay rolls, 1863-1864
- United States Christian Commission Diary, 1864 September 26-October 28 - Collection comprises a diary of John C. Shrudlow detailing his activities visiting sick and injured Union soldiers. He mentions but doesn't describe attending the funeral of an African American soldier and the Colored Hospital chapel at City Point, VA
- Stephen F. Hathaway letters, 1863-1866 - Hathaway, was a white servicemen with the 14th Regiment, Massachusetts Volunteers during the Civil War. In his letters after the war, he wrote about being stationed in Texas with the 36th US Colored Troops
- Sarah Cheber papers, 1861-1865 - Collection contains letter addressed to Sarah Cheber from her brothers serving in the Union Army. One brother, Jacob, writes about the formation of the Tennessee Colored Zouave Regiment and recruitment of African Americans.
- Saltar Family papers, 1759-1880 (Sallie Bingham Center) - Correspondence between women members of the Saltar and Gordon families of Pennsylvania, New Jersey and Maryland. Letters written during the Civil War discuss the role of African American troops and the recruitment of the 3rd Infantry USCT commander Benjamin C. Tilghman.
- Roy C. Trimiar Correspondence, 1939-1943 - Primarily letters from Roy Trimiar to his wife Lola, an African American couple. Roy Trimiar was a serviceman in the US Army stationed at Fort Bragg and Fort Oglethrorpe.
- Frederick Cutler papers, 1863-1864 - Collection contains letters to Frederick and Sarah Cutler from their brothers who served in the white 47th Massachusetts Regiment. The brothers comment on the black troops of the 4th Louisiana Regiment and the massacre of African Americans troops at Fort Pillow, Tennessee.
- Henry M. Crydenwise papers, 1861-1867 - Letters from Henry Crydenwise, an African American Union soldier and member of the 90th New York Infantry Regiment.
- Ulysses Doubleday letter, 1862 March 15 - Letter from Doubleday to F.W. Ballard. Doubleday was a white colonel of the US 3rd and 45th US Colored Troops.
- Charles Augustus Ropes Dimon papers, 1864-1878 - Dimon was a white Union army officer. Letter describes activities of the 86th US Regiment colored troops.
- Edmund Snare papers, 1836-1867 (History of Medicine Collections) - Snare was a white physician and examining surgeon of the Pension Office. Collection contains ledger documenting examinations of soldiers, primarily from Pennsylvania, one entry includes an African American serviceman.
