Here you'll find online resources from libraries and other institutions beyond Duke. Many sites include digitized primary sources that can be used in your research.
For research into the North Carolina eugenics program, both the State Archives of North Carolina and Wilson Special Collections Library at UNC-Chapel Hill have sources online as well as other items that can be accessed by visiting those places.
There are more online resources out there - so keep exploring!
Newspapers can be a great resource for researching eugenics. Both national and local publications are available online.
For links to historical newspapers databases, see this guide. You'll find tips for locating digitized newspapers from around the U.S.
Duke Chronicle: issues of Duke's student newspaper from 1905 to 2000 are available online. The paper mentions eugenics and related topics.
North Carolina Newspapers: collection of community and student newspapers from towns and schools around North Carolina. The site also includes several African-American publications from the state.
The Eugenics Archives: an interactive project exploring eugenics and its contemporary importance. Although focused on the Canadian experience, the site includes information on key concepts, people, and writings that influenced American eugenics. The articles also link to additional scholarly resources.
Image Archives on the American Eugenics Movement: a project providing digitized materials from the Eugenics Record Office at Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory. The site includes a variety of primary source documents grouped around various topics along with a brief overview of the topic.
Eugenics in Virginia: a digital exhibit from the University of Virginia exploring the state's history with eugenics, includes material on Virginia's Racial Integrity Act of 1924 and the Buck v. Bell case.
Medical Heritage Library: collection of digitized sources from libraries around the world. Although focused broadly on the history of medicine, the collection can be searched for eugenics and other related topics.
Eugenics in North Carolina - State Library of North Carolina: this site links to a number of digitized publications related to the eugenics movement in North Carolina. This includes publications of various state agencies, including the Eugenics Board, state laws, and publications of pro-eugenics organizations like the Human Betterment League. The site also includes more recent material related to the state's effort to compensate sterilization victims.
Human Betterment League of North Carolina, Inc. Records: this archival collection, held at UNC-Chapel Hill's Wilson Library, include items related to the pro-eugenics organization as well as the broader eugenic movement in the state. Some of the documents are available online.
