Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Key Reference Sources
Oxford Bibliographies: Music This link opens in a new window
Excellent and up-to-date annotated bibliographies on music topics. See the bibliography here on Shosktakovich by Pauline Fairclough.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the core music reference source The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. See especially the Grove article on Shostakovich by Laurel Fay and David Fanning.
MGG online : Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart This link opens in a new window
Search for encyclopedic entries on every aspect of music as well as many related areas such as literature, philosophy, and visual arts
Oxford History of Western Music This link opens in a new window
Search encyclopedic entries related to Western classical music. Written by one of the most prominent and provocative musicologists of our time, Richard Taruskin
Finding Articles and Dissertations
Duke Libraries Homepage
You can search for articles using the All tab or Articles tab on the Duke Libraries Homepage, or in the specialized databases listed below for a more targeted search:
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search for articles, books, dissertations, and performance reviews. The content is scholarly and international in scope.
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on a wide variety of musical periods and styles
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search a collection of important scholarly journals representing a range of disciplines.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles in the humanities and social sciences published by university presses, including the Duke University Press
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times This link opens in a new window
Search for news articles from the New York Times from 1851-2018.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Search dissertations and theses from colleges and universities around the world from 1743 to present. Full text theses from 1997-present
Streaming Audio and Video