Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
33 1/3 Series
The 33 1/3 book series is one of the best sources for album reviews. You can search the full list of titles here.
Selected books in the series:
You can search CDs and vinyl records on the Music Library homepage. Click the "recordings only" button to limit search to CDs and records.
Many CDs have liner notes with information and musical analysis.
You can search album reviews on these websites:
Best Rock Magazine Archives
Find full-text magazine articles on bands/artists from the 1960s to the early 2000s using these archival databases:
Rock's Backpages This link opens in a new window
Articles from major rock music magazines published in the USA and the UK since the early 1960s. Best way to search is drop-down list by artist/band name.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Search for Rock music magazine articles from the 20th and 21st century.
Links to Books in the Catalog
You can search for books in the Duke Libraries Catalog. It's often best to search band names using quotation marks, such as "Red Hot Chili Peppers" which searches these words in order as a single phrase.
You can browse books using some of the following links:
Finding Scholarly Articles
These are some of the best resources for finding scholarly articles on rock music:
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly articles on music topics.
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Find journal and magazine articles on music.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search a collection of important scholarly journals representing a range of disciplines.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles in the humanities and social sciences published by university presses, including the Duke University Press
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly literature from a range of disciplines.
Newspapers and Magazines
For very recent bands/artists, current newspapers and magazines are likely to be the best sources for information. Some newspaper databases focus only on current content, and others include older issues; coverage is indicated below.
Oxford Bibliographies: Music This link opens in a new window
Search peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies in music to help you find articles and books on your topics. Includes some rock music sources, for example the Beatles, Rap, and Hip-Hop.
Dissertations can be surprisingly good sources for rock music research, since they are scholarly, can be very focused on particular bands/artists, and often shed new light on a topic.