Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books about composers are located in the ML410 section downstairs in the Music Library, arranged alphabetically by composer.
You can also browse for books in the online library catalog using the following links:
Link to the Duke Libraries Catalog
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Search encyclopedia entries on all aspects of music, including composers, performers, terminology, and musical genres and forms. Includes the important Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians.
Oxford Bibliographies: Music This link opens in a new window
Search for annotated bibliographies to find books and articles for your topics. There are entries on Bach, Beethoven, Wagner, and Stravinsky.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search for music articles, books, and dissertations.
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on a wide variety of musical periods and styles
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search a collection of important scholarly journals representing a range of disciplines.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Search for full-text dissertations on musical topics.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles in the humanities and social sciences published by university presses, including the Duke University Press
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly literature from a range of disciplines; many articles available through Duke Libraries. Add Duke Libraries under 'Library Links' in your GS settings.
To search for CD recordings, go to the Music Library Homepage and click on "Recordings Only" in the search box.