Visual Materials in the Duke University Archives

Visit our Flickr site for more historical photos of Duke University!
Helpful Subject Headings
Clicking on these subject headings will search the entire Duke Libraries catalog.
To narrow the list of results down to materials located in the Duke University Archives, select "University Archives" under the Location menu on the lefthand side of the page.
Using this LibGuide
This guide is designed to help researchers locate visual materials within the University Archives' collections, but is not intended to be a comprehensive bibliography.
The information in this guide is separated into four sections. Please use the tabs above to navigate to each section.
- Artworks and Artifacts: Collections and resources highlighted in this section contain original works of art (e.g. paintings, drawings, sketches) and reproductions, as well as individual relics, artifacts, and dimensional items of significance.
- Photographs and Films: Collections and resources highlighted in this section contain photographs, negatives, slides, and moving images (in a variety of formats) that primarily pertain to Duke University history including student and faculty life, campus events, and university architecture.
- Blueprints, Plans, and Maps: Collections and resources highlighted in this section contain blueprints, schematics, architectural sketches, and maps that pertain to the Duke University campus, structures, and grounds.
- Designed Works and Ephemera: Collections and resources highlighted in this section contain a variety of designed materials (e.g. brochures and posters) and ephemeral items—including flyers, handouts, illustrations—that might contain visual content
Links to relevant digitized materials are included in each section.
After reviewing this guide, please contact a University Archives staff member if you need further assistance in locating additional resources.
Accessing Duke University Archives Materials
The Duke University Archives, part of the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library, is the official repository for the historical records of Duke University.
The materials described in this guide may be used in the Rubenstein Library's reading room on the 3rd floor of Perkins Library.
Useful Links:
Duke University Archives
Contact Information:
Duke University Archives
David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library
Box 90185
Durham, NC 27708
919-660-5822
http://library.duke.edu/uarchives/








Loading...
