This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Public Policy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Public Policy   Tags: 2009, international-relations, public-policy, pubpol  

subject portal
Last Updated: Apr 11, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/public-policy Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Table of Contents

Use the tabs in this guide or the links below to find recommended sources for Public Policy research.

  • Top Online Sources
    Best library-subscribed databases to use for searching for academic articles and other materials in Political Science; also top Political Science journals available online.
  • Search Engines
    For the free Web, search across Political Science sites, think tanks, NGOs, internet archives, Google Scholar; also a link to the Duke Libraries portal for idientifying Duke resources.
  • Related Research Guides
    Research guides for related subjects, with more specific and in-depth resources to explore
  • New@DukeLibraries
    New databases, e-journals, books, and reference sources relevant to Public Policy
  • Honors
    Important info for Honors students: library privileges, submitting a thesis, research methods and tools, writing tips, citation management
 

Citing Sources

Public Policy professors do not agree on any one citation style. If your professor does not have a preference, the consensus is to use any of the Social Sciences style manuals
Chicago, APA, Turabian
as long as you use it consistently. MLA is generally not used (unless your professor specifies it); it is considered more appropriate for the Humanities.

If your professor did not state a preference, which of the styles above is easiest for you to use and makes the most sense to you? Here is a page that leads you to each of the style manuals with examples of how to cite different materials:
http://library.duke.edu/research/citing

 

Top Reference Works

CQ Political Reference Suite
Online reference books from CQ Press, from the broad (Political Handbook of the World) to the specific (Encyclopedia of Water Politics and Policy in the US).
Includes: Guide to US Elections

CQ Electronic Library
All of Duke's Congressional Quarterly subscriptions--journals, databases, and encyclopedias--for analysis of Congressional actions and US political issues. Includes CQ Weekly, CQ Researcher, CQ Almanac, Voting & Elections, CQ Congress Collection, Political Handbook of the World, and more.

Oxford Reference Online: Politics & Social Sciences
Encyclopedias and dictionaries on economics, law, human rights, politics, statistics; guide to US government

Oxford Handbook of Public Policy in Oxford Handbooks Online in Political Science

Praeger Security International
All books and encyclopedias from PSI, full text. Covers international security, defense and foreign policy, strategy, regional security, military history, and terrorism. Weekly commentaries, primary source documents, terrorism chronology.

Sage Reference Online
Many encyclopedias on Politics and International Relations topics
Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods
International Encyclopedia of Political Science

Student Atlas of World Politics
(print, Perkins Reference)
Maps of political boundaries, land use, religions, historical events incl. terrorism, health, global economy, food, energy.

 

Political Analysis for Public Policy

Political Analysis for Public Policy

A key guide used for the PUBPOL 301/ POLSCI 310 course, with resources for:

  • databases and search strategies
  • interest groups
  • news/ media
  • public opinion
  • US government
  • US states
  • international issues
  • policy writing tips

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Catherine Shreve
Contact Info

Email Catherine
919-660-6934


Office Hours
Weds. & Thurs. 3-5 pm,
Rubenstein Hall Resource Rm.


 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip