This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Political Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Political Science   Tags: international-relations, political-science, polsci  

subject portal
Last Updated: Mar 7, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/political-science Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Table of Contents

Use the tabs in this guide or the links below to find recommended sources for Political Science research.

  • Top Online Sources
    Best library-subscribed databases to use for searching for academic articles and other materials in Political Science; also top Political Science journals available online.
  • Search Engines
    For the free Web, search across Political Science sites, think tanks, NGOs, internet archives, Google Scholar; also a link to the Duke Libraries portal for idientifying Duke resources.
  • Related Research Guides
    Research guides for related subjects, with more specific and in-depth resources to explore
  • New@DukeLibraries
    New databases, e-journals, books, and reference sources relevant to Political Science
  • Honors
    Important info for Honors students: library privileges, submitting a thesis, research methods and tools, writing tips, citation management
 

Top Reference Works

CQ Press Political Reference Suite
Online reference books from CQ Press, from the broad (Political Handbook of the World) to the specific (Encyclopedia of Water Politics and Policy in the US).
Includes: Encyclopedia of Political Science from American Political Science Association (APSA), with entries on political theories, concepts, research frameworks, and political practices worldwide.

CQ Electronic Library
All of Duke's Congressional Quarterly subscriptions--journals, databases, and encyclopedias--for analysis of Congressional actions and US political issues. Includes CQ Weekly, CQ Researcher, CQ Almanac, Voting & Elections, CQ Congress Collection, Political Handbook of the World, and more.

Oxford Handbooks Online in Political Science
Essays from the world's leading scholars, with references for further reading; thorough introductions to topics in the discipline.

Praeger Security International
All books and encyclopedias from PSI, full text. Covers international security, defense and foreign policy, strategy, regional security, military history, and terrorism. Weekly commentaries, primary source documents, terrorism chronology.

Sage Reference Online
Many encyclopedias on Politics and International Relations topics
Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods
International Encyclopedia of Political Science

Student Atlas of World Politics
(print, Perkins Reference)
Maps of political boundaries, land use, religions, historical events incl. terrorism, health, global economy, food, energy.

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Catherine Shreve
Contact Info

Email Catherine
919-660-6934


Office Hours
Weds. & Thurs. 3-5 pm,
Rubenstein Hall Resource Rm.


 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip