This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Patents - Searching and Downloading" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

Patents - Searching and Downloading  

Patent links for searching and downloading patents.
Last Updated: Nov 29, 2010 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/patent Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Duke Patent Contacts

Meghan Gamsby, Chemistry Librarian
meghan.gamsby@duke.edu
| 919.660.1578


Linda Martinez, Engineering/Computer Science Librarian
bookworm@duke.edu
| 919.660.5368


Michael Peper, Math/Physics Librarian
michael.peper@duke.edu
| 919.660.5926

 

Patent Resources

Patent FAQ

Downloading patents:

If you have patent number, use these links for .pdf of full text patent with images.

Guides to Searching for Patents:


Patent Fundamentals for Scientists & Engineers by Gordon & Cookfair (e-book/Duke only)

Guide to Searching Patents from UCF

Finding Patents from UC-San Diego

How to Conduct Patent Searches from NCSU


Selected Patent Databases:

Google Patents Full Text, Full-Page Images

U.S. patents from USPTO. It's google, so easy to search.

European and World Patents (esp@cenet) Full Text, Full-Page Images

> 38 million international patents from 71 countries. Data from 1920 for France, Germany, Great Britain, and U.S. pdfs for > 30 countries, including Germany from 1977, Great Britain from 1920, and U.S. from 1836.

USPTO Patent Database Full Text, Full-Page Images

U.S. patents from 1976 to date. Patents from 1790 - 1975 aaccessed through patent number or d through patent numbe or current U.S. patent classification. Patent applications from March 15, 2001 to date available.

Canadian Patents Database Full Text, Full-Page Images

Abstracts/claims from 1978, titles and names, searchable from 1920. Pdfs from 1920 to date available.

Patent Lens Full Text, Full-Page Images

U.S., Europe, Austrialian and WIPO patents,up 10 70 countries and  > 10 million patents


 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip