Last Updated: Feb 28, 2014
This guide provides a list of major open access resources for the study of religion and theology.
Naive drawing in the style of of an ancient map of Jerusalem [Image Credit].
Are you a Duke Alumni? Check out this page on Alumni resources.
- Open Books
This page highlights some of the major digital libraries where you can read and download free books online.
- Open Journals
This page lists some suggested sites for finding free journal articles on religious and theological topics.
- Art & Images
This page lists links to image collections and indexes.
- Primary Sources
There are many resources for reading sacred texts online. On this page you will find some selected websites for study of the sacred texts of major religious traditions. Includes a sub-page on digital sacred texts online
- Data & Statistics
This page highlights numerous organizations and studies that gather and disseminate religious data and statistics.
- Research Tools
This page lists a few selected research tools for organizing your research in religious studies. Includes links to Bible and Quran search engines.
The Wabash Center keeps the most current & up-to-date index of websites and e-resources of relevance to research in religion and theology.
- Internet Guide to Religion
A selective, annotated guide to a wide variety of e-resources of interest to those who are involved in religious studies. Includes websites, bibliographies, liturgies, reference resources, and software.
- Internet Guide to Religion: Browse by Material Type
Browse the internet guide by material types: Ex. Dissertations and Theses, Language resources, Online Article or Essay Online Book, Online Journal, Online Magazine/Newsletter, Online Reference Work, Online Text Collections, and more.
- Internet Guide to Religion: Browse by Author
Browse the internet guide by author: Ex. Aquinas, Aristotle, Augustine of Hippo, Chaucer, Gregory of Nyssa, Tertullian, and many more.
- Internet Guide to Religion: Browse by Topic/Subject
Browse the internet guide by aspects of religion, faith traditions, religious thought, archaeology, denominations: Ex. Gnosticism, Liturgics, Monasticism and religious orders, Mysticism; Shinto, Sikhism, Taoism; Hebrew Bible, Bible - NT; Coptic Church, Lutheran Church, and many more.
Have a suggestion? Submit a link!