LibGuides: WRITING 230K: Writing Performance across Cultures: Getting Started

Online Background Info

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Search encyclopedia entries on all aspects of music, including composers, performers, terminology, musical genres and forms, orchestras, and institutions
Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music This link opens in a new window
Search for encyclopedic entries on topics related to world music
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Includes Oxford subject encyclopedias in the performing arts and other subjects. Click on "Performing Arts" under "By Subject."

Improving Search Results From http://www.istl.org/09-spring/experts-Section%203_%20ImprBibliDatabSearchRes.pdf

Find the full text of a specific article by using the library's Articles search.
Find specific journals by title (ex. Social Science & Medicine) using the Online Journal Titles page.
Find specific research databases (ex. Pubmed) using the Research Databases page.

Can't find the article? Request articles that Duke Kunshan/Duke do not own by using document delivery.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) or Document Delivery allows you to request scans of book chapters and articles not available full-text at the DKU Library.

Create a Document Delivery account.
Once you create your account, for an article, all you need to do is click the "request a copy from another library" in the search results.
Or, for book chapters, use the "Chapter" request link in your ILL account.

CIA World Factbook
Provides information about the people, history, government, economy, geography, communications, and military of over 260 world entities (most are countries). An excellent source for comprehensive country info.
U.S. Department of State Country Background Notes
All recent (2010-2011) facts from the U.S. State Department about independent states, dependencies, and sovereign areas. Another good resource for country background info.
Political handbook of the world
Presents excellent, authoritative overviews of countries worldwide.
World Health Organization-Countries
Information about WHO member countries.