This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Comics and Comic Book ("Sequential Art")" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Comics and Comic Book ("Sequential Art")   Tags: art, comic books, comic_books, comics, courseguidefall12, drawing  

Last Updated: Sep 6, 2012 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/comicbooks Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Comic Books

 

Comics versus Graphic Novels

Comics and Comic Books are a form of sequential art where a story is portrayed though a use of image panels implying the elapse of time.  Comics are nearly always serially issued, i.e., appearing periodically and intended for mass consumption.  Graphic novels, while they can be in some cases indistinquishable from comics, adhere more to the art/literature mode seeking to appeal to a discriminating audience with esthetic or political sensibilities.

 

Beginnings - Reference Sources



Oxford Art Online

- Dictionary of Art and the Encyclopedia of Esthetics (and two smaller dictionaries) searchable at once.  The major beginning point for art history research.

Oxford Reference Online - Art and Architecture
- group of electronic dictionary sources published by Oxford U Press.  Basically short definitions.


Rubenstein Library, Duke University.  Guide to Comics and Graphic Novels in the Collection

 

Specialized Reference

Surveys, Encyclopedias, and Dictionaries



Encyclopedia of comic books and graphic novels. 2 vols.
Santa Barbara, Calif. : Greenwood, c2010.
Lilly Library Reference PN6707 .E49 2010


The world encyclopedia of comics. 4 vols.
Philadelphia : Chelsea House, c1999.
Lilly Library Reference PN6710 .W6 1999

Dictionnaire encyclopédique des héros et auteurs de BD, [i.e., bande dessinée].  
Filippini, Henri.
Grenoble : Glénat ; [S.l.] : Opera mundi, c1998.
Lilly Library Reference PN6707 .F56 1998

The Encyclopedia of American comics
New York : Facts on File, c1990.
Lilly Library PN6725 .E64 1990

 

THEORY         [subject heading:] Comic books, strips, etc. -- History and criticism

Critical approaches to comics : theories and methods
New York : Routledge, 2012. 
Lilly Library PN6710 .C75 2012

 

Comics and sequential art : principles and practices from the legendary cartoonist
Eisner, Will.
New York : W.W. Norton, 2008.
Lilly and Perkins NC1764 .E47 2008

 

The art of comics : a philosophical approach.
Chichester, West Sussex ; Malden, MA : Wiley-Blackwell, 2012.
Lilly Library PN6710 .A86 2012


Comics & ideology.
New York : P. Lang, c2001.
Lilly Library  PN6714 .C645 2001 c.1

 

Theme Books

Comic book nation : the transformation of youth culture in America
Wright, Bradford W., 1968-
Baltimore : Johns Hopkins University Press, 2001.
Lilly PN6725 .W74 2001

 

Seal of approval : the history of the comics code.
Jackson : University Press of Mississippi, c1998.
Lilly Library PN6725 .N953 1998

Visual Studies Librarian

Profile Image
Lee Sorensen
Contact Info
email: LSLILLY@duke.edu
104 Lilly Library
Box 90727
919 660-5994
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip