This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Comic Books and Graphic Novels" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Comic Books and Graphic Novels   Tags: comic_books, comics, fanzines, graphic_novels, manga, murray, zines  

How to find comics, graphic novels, and related visual sources in Duke's collections
Last Updated: Oct 9, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.duke.edu/comics Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

New additions to the collections: Graphic Novels

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

New additions to the collections: Secondary Sources

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Where are the Comics and Graphic Novels in Duke Libraries?

You can find large collections of comic books, comic strips, graphic novels, manga, and zines in Lilly Library, Perkins and Bostock Libraries, and the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library.

  • The Edwin and Terry Murray Comic Book Collection in the Rubenstein Library contains over 67,000 comic books from the 1930s to 2000s.  The collection is especially rich in Marvel and DC superhero comics, but contains examples of virtually every genre, publisher, and style of comic.
  • In addition, the Comic Book and Graphic Novel Collection in the Rubenstein Library contains thousands of additional comics and graphic novels, with rich materials in international comics (especially Argentina and France) and comics created by women. 
  • Lilly Library holds many graphic novels and reprints of comic books and comic strips (links do not represent all of the items available). 
  • The East Asian Collection on the second floor of Bostock Library holds a large manga collection.   
  • The Rubenstein Library holds large collections of comics fanzines and zines by women and girls, including the Edwin and Terry Murray Fanzine Collection and the zine collections of the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture. 

Items in Lilly, Perkins, and Bostock can be checked out.  See the "Finding and Using Comics and Graphic Novels" tab to learn more about how to use materials in the Rubenstein Library.  

 

Ask a Librarian

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Matthew Farrell
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip