HST172 : CHINA: FROM ANTIQUITY TO 1400: Getting Started

Search Duke University Catalog & TRLN & Worldcat together or seperately for books. The following are some sugested subject keyword:

• Archaeology China
• Buddhism
• China—Civilization
• China—History
• China--Social life and customs
• China--Religion
• China--Kings and rulers
• Chinese literature
• Chinese poetry
• Confucian/Confucianism
• Five dynasties and the ten kingdoms, 907-979
• Han Dynasty
• Han Feizi
• Legalism (Chinese Philosophy)
• Mencius
• Mongol
• Philosophers--China
• Philosophy, Chinese
• Qin Dynasty
• Science China History/Technology China history
• Silk road
• Song Dynasty
• Sunzi
• Tang Dynasty
• Taoism (for Daoism)
• Three kingdoms-Sui dynasty, 220-618 (for Six dynasties)
• Yuan Dynasty
• Zhuangzi  (Chuang Tzu)

• Who’s who in China

• Who was who in the People's Republic of China

• Biographical dictionary of Chinese women

• Database: World Biographical Information System

General:

• Encyclopedia of China
• Cambridge encyclopedia of China

Subject Specific:

• Culture: 
  Cultural atlas of China
  The Penguin encyclopedia of classical civilizations
• History:
  The Cambridge history of China
  
  • From the Origins of Civilization to 221 B.C.
  • The Ch'in and Han Empires, 221 B.C.–A.D. 220
  • Sui and T'ang China, 589–906, Part I
  • Alien Regimes and Border States, 907–1368
• Philosophy/Religion:
  Daoism handbook
  Companion encyclopedia of Asian philosophy

Bibliography of Asian Studies is the main English language database on Asian Studies, You can often combine your search on it with the following:

• ATLA religion database (Religion)
• Bibliography of Asian Studies
• Historical Abstracts (History)
• JSTOR (Archived issues of academic journals)
• WorldCat

See also: Find Databases by Subject

Top Journals:

• China quarterly
• Modern China
• Journal of Asian Studies