Skip to main content

German Studies // Carolina-Duke Program in German Studies

Resource Guide for Duke and UNC libraries

German Studies

Bibliographic Indexes

  • BDSL-online is a database for German language and literature, literary history and criticism. Covers books, pamphlets, articles, chapters in books, dissertations and reviews. Indexes significantly more German language publications than MLA, Humanities Abstracts etc. 1985-present; earlier in print
  • Germanisitik Online  international index of materials in German language and literature. 2008 – present online. 1960 – 2008 in print Germanistik
  • KLGonline is the standard database for German Literature and German language literature published after 1945; provides bio-bibliographical information for more than 650 authors. 1945 – present
  • MLA International Bibliography provides citations to research in literature, including  German Literature, 1926-present
  • IBZ Online lists more than two million articles in a wide variety of German and non-German journals, annuals, learned society yearbooks, conference proceedings, newspapers, etc. in all fields of knowledge and all languages, from a German point of view.  1981-present online. 1896-1986 in print
  • Internationale Bibliographie zur deutschen Klassik 1750-1850 [serial].  Perkins/Bostock Library  Z2233 .I6; IBK ONLINE VERSION starting with entries from 1990
  • Kindlers Literatur Lexikon (KLL) one user at a time; seems to work best with Mozilla; new print edition in reference 

Journal Resources

Scholarly Blogs

OpenEdition offers journals; full-text, and scholarly blogs in four languages 

Medieval and Renaissance Studies

See databases for Medieval Renaissance Studies

General Humanities

Browse Duke databases A-Z 

  • Academic OneFile provides access to some 11,000 journals with full-text articles from more than 4,000 peer-reviewed journals and reference sources worldwide. 1980 - present  
  • Academic Search Comlete is a scholarly, full text database designed for academic institutions. The database includes full text for 1800 publications as well as images, for nearly every academic field of study. 1975 - present
  • Arts and Humanities Citation Index is contained in the ISI Web of Science which provides access to the Science Citation Expanded® (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index® (1956-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™ (1975-present). It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from some of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world
  • Dissertations & Theses includes more than 2.4 million entries for dissertations and theses in all subject areas from around the world. Provides abstracts for dissertations (July 1980-present); abstracts for master's theses (1988-present); and citations for dissertations dating from 1637. Nearly one million dissertations and theses are available for download in PDF format
  • Google Scholar allows search for scholarly literature across a variety of disciplines and providers including academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar is freely searchable; use the GetIt@Duke links for full-text (if available)
  • Historical Abstracts Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more." This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955
  • Humanities Abstracts covers citations and abstracts of 500 journals in the areas of archaeology, classics, art, performing arts, philosophy, history, music, linguistics, literature, and religion. 1984 present  
  • Humanities International Complete includes all data from the American Humanities Index, plus more international content. Strongest coverage in literature and literary arts, but also includes journals in philosophy, theater, film, history, cultural and ethnic studies, archeology, music, dance, and multi-disciplinary humanities topics. Date coverage varies by journal, with some titles included back to 1929; some full-text
  • JSTOR is an archive for academic journals. Articles are available as scanned versions of journal pages. Date Coverage Varies. A typical coverage range of a journal is the beginning of the journal until 5 years ago
  • Literature Resource Center provides the full text of biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses for authors of every age, nation, and literary discipline. Covers more than 100,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors
  • MLA International Bibliography provides citations to research in literature, literary criticism, linguistics, modern languages, drama, folklore, film and video, and other communicative behavior. Covers American, English, French, German, Hungarian, Italian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Yiddish, other European, Asian, African, and Latin American literature and folklore. 1926-present
  • Periodicals Archive Online provides archive of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. It has been indexed in its sister database, Periodicals Index Online
  • Periodicals Index Online indexes thousands of selected periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. Includes the complete table of contents for each issue of each journal. Bibliographic records are included for the journals themselves. The scope is international. 1770 to 1995
  • Project Muse e-journals covering the arts and humanities, social science, and mathematics. The journals are published by university presses, including the Duke University Press

Jobs with German

  • GoinGlobal - Duke Career Center resource, once connected choose country guide for Germany
  • Marketline Advantage - Library database containing company reports and broad sector industry reports
  • D & B Hoovers- Library database containing company information, some analyst reports for public companies, and build a list of companies feature
  • Business Monitor Online - Library database containing broad sector industry reports
  • S&P Capital IQ - must come to Ford Library at the Fuqua School to use this resource; use if you are looking for analyst reports on a public company or want to build a list of startups within a particular industry ( this is really god for preparing for an interview – as you get information not on the web