Skip to main content

Marine Science

Your Librarian

Janil Miller
Pearse Memorial Library
Duke University Marine Laboratory
135 Duke Marine Lab Road
Beaufort, NC 28516

Office Hours:
Mon. - Th. (8:30 am - 4 pm)
(252) 504-7510
Subjects:Marine Sciences

Background Information

  • Access Science @ McGraw-Hill Full access to over 8,500 articles, 110,000+ dictionary terms, and hundreds of research updates in all areas of science and technology.
  • Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior 'This comprehensive work covers not only the usual topics such as communication, learning, sexual selection, navigation, and the history of the field, but also emerging topics in cognition, animal welfare, conservation, and applications of animal behavior."
  • Encyclopedia of Biodiversity "Brings together, for the first time, a study of the dimensions of diversity...Major themes of the work include the evolution of biodiversity, systems for classifying and defining biodiversity, ecological patterns and theories of biodiversity, and an assessment of contemporary patterns and trends in biodiversity."
  • Encyclopedia of Life Sciences is "a monthly-updating reference work containing over 4,800 specially commissioned, peer-reviewed and citable articles written by leaders in the field. It offers comprehensive and authoritative coverage of the life sciences...."
  • Encyclopedia of Ocean Science "...includes approximately 500 articles covering the breadth and depth of the field with over 30% new and updated content reflecting the latest research in the field."
  • Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia "is internationally renowned for its scientific reporting, coverage and illustrations, and serves as a major point of reference for researchers and students studying the animal kingdom. Thorough articles familiarize readers with animals found everywhere on the globe, detailing their life cycles, predators, food systems, overall ecology and much more." 
  • Oxford Reference Online: Science delivers access to numerous "subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource."