Religious Studies: Christianity

The Encyclopedia of Christianity is a comprehensive, five-volume work proving information on many topics in Christianity. Entries are arranged alphabetically and longer articles are organized into distinct sections for easy browsing. Bibliographies are provided for each article providing access to further resources. An excellent resource to consult when beginning research in Christianity.

The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian church is a comprehensive work for terms relating to all aspects of the Christian church. Because it is a dictionary, entries are not as comprehensive as the encyclopedias, but it is a great resource for quickly checking the meaning of a term or concept. Also available electronically.

This reference book focuses on the spread and influence of Christianity globally. Volume 1 is arranged by country and provides basic information about the country and the history and role of Christianity within that country, while volume 2 is arranged by specific subjects (language, religion, peoples, etc.). Bibliographies are provided in the articles for further research. An excellent resource for studying Christianity's impact on different nations.

This four-volume encyclopedia provides in-depth coverage of the Bible and the people, places, and concepts associated with it. In addition, information is often provided on specific words and includes references to where in the Bible they appear and some details about the term in its original language and how it has been translated. A great asset to assist in studying passages of the Bible, although it lacks the most recent scholarship.

The Encyclopedia of the Bible and its Reception, which began publication of its 30 volumes in 2009, will surely become a standard reference work in Biblical studies. The encyclopedia focuses on both the Bible itself and its interpretation and reception over time. Currently the work is in its early stages, with only 4 volumes released. Articles are detailed, and longer articles are organized into distinct sections for easy browsing. Longer articles also contain a bibliography for further research. It is a great resource to check, but its incompleteness may make finding information on specific needs difficult. This is definitely a work to keep your eye on over the next several years. Also available electronically.

This three volume reference work provides information on texts which addressed or impacted Christian-Muslim relations over the years of 600-1500. Articles provide brief descriptions of the texts, their authors, and provide information on primary and secondary resources concerning these texts. Entries are organized chronologically, so if you are searching for a specific text it may be helpful to use the index. Further bibliographies are planned to address Christian-Muslim relations from 1500 into the present, but they are not yet available. Also available electronically.