Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Nature, Body, Mind: Chocolate and Tobacco in the Hispanic World and Beyond
Three levels of catalogs _ Duke; The NC Triangle Libraries; The World
- Duke Catalog See our local holdings
- Search TRLN Search across the catalogs of Duke, UNC, NCCU, NCSU
- WorldCat Search catalogs from over 10,000 research libraries worldwide
Search Strategy for Books
- Search for keywords related to your research interest.
- Find one book that looks interesting and click on it.
- Click on the "Subjects" tab in that record.
- This will lead you to all the materials in the catalog on that particular subject.
Some likely SUBJECTS for your course include:
Find Reference Works - Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
The following SUBJECT headings will lead you to specialized reference works for your class
Search these online sources for encyclopedia articles and dictionary entries on Latin American & Caribbean themes.
Find Journal Articles
To read more about any database, click on the title below and then on "view full record."
Databases Specializing in Latin American Studies
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index - A citation database to articles on Latin America, the Caribbean, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States from 1970-Present.
- Informe - Contains the full text of popular magazines, academic journals and selected newspaper articles in Spanish from the mid-1990s to Present. Search in Spanish.
- Prisma - (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas) provides full-text to scholarly journals for the interdisciplinary study of Latin America & the Caribbean from the 1970s-Present.
- Red ALyC - An open access database of full-text articles from scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences published primarily in Latin American, the Caribbean, and Iberia.Search in Spanish.
- SciELO - Scientific Electronic Library Online - An open access database of full-text journal articles published in Latin America in the physical and social sciences.
- World Scholar - Latin America & the Caribbean - A collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; full-text of academic journals and news-feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps, images and statistics; audio and video; and much more.