Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Articles & Journals
Art Full Text
In addition to art & architecture, covers computer applications and graphics, film, television and video.
TIP: In addition to the databases below, search the Duke Libraries database tab for frequently used, general databases such as JSTOR, Project Muse, Academic OneFile and Academic Search Complete. They all contain articles on Latino/a Studies in the humanities.
Provides citations to the literature written by and about Chicanos (Mexican-Americans) and other Latinos in the United States. Covers both the humanities and social sciences. Citations added since 1992 also cover Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
A citation database to articles on Latin America, the Caribbean, the U.S.-Mexican border, and Hispanics in the U.S. published from 1970 forward. Those articles contained in the database PRISMA have their full-text cross-linked in HAPI.
Contains the full text of popular magazines, academic journals and selected newspaper articles mostly written in Spanish from the mid-1990s to Present. Search in Spanish. Covers both the humanities and the social sciences.
Presents poetry, fiction, and plays written in their original language, English or Spanish, by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States.
Literary Reference Center Plus
Includes a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. It is especially designed for undergraduate use.
MLA International Bibliography
The standard database for study in the humanities. MLA provides international coverage of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing published from 1926
Periodicals Index Online
Indexes thousands of selected international periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences from their first issues to 1995.
Alternative Press Index
Contains journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals that cover the period of 1969 through 1990.
TIP: In addition to the databases below, search under the Duke databases tab for important individual U.S. titles such as the New York Times and Washington Post in the database ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
Full-text articles from over 300 ethnic and minority newspapers, journals and magazines. Coverage 1959 to present.
Latin American Newsstand
Full text of over 70 publications including most major newspapers from Latin America and the Caribbean in Spanish, Portuguese and some English from the mid-1990s-Present. Also includes some Latino newspapers.
Provides full text access to a range of U.S. and international newspapers, radio and television transcripts from the 1970s to the present
A collection of important regional newspapers in the U.S.
World Newspaper Archive
A fully searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the globe, including an entire module of U.S. and Latin American Newspapers from the 19th and 20th Centuries.
An index to archival finding aids derived from major archival libraries and sources in the United States and the United Kingdom.
TIP: The databases listed above under "Newspapers," contain newspaper articles which are primary sources for the time periods they cover.
Archives of the Puerto Rican Diaspora
The Archives preserve and make available for research unique primary materials documenting the history and culture of the Puerto Rican Diaspora with a concentration on New York City. Contains photos, individual and organization papers.
In the First Person
Indexes 4000 collections of letters, diaries, oral histories and personal narratives in English from around the world.
Latino Cultural Heritage Digital Archives
A collection of papers and photos held at the Library of California State University Northridge.
Sabin Americana 1500-1926
Online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s.