Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended databases for British and Irish Studies
Articles and Books
19th Century UK Periodicals line
Duke subscribes to Series One: New Readerships and Series Two: Empire.
Searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late 17th century to the early 20th century.
Contains citations and abstracts to books and articles on the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
BHI British Humanities Index
Provides abstracts from over 400 daily newspapers, weekly magazines and academic journals of international standing, dating back to 1962.
Periodicals Index Online
Indexes articles in over 4500 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences back as far as 1665. Now includes some full text.
Excellent resource for government policy and documents.
Major Primary Source Databases
British History Online
Digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.
(see also Global British Primary Sources)
Colonial State Papers
Full text of thousands of papers concerning British activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Full text of books, lists, advertisements, rules, songs, election propaganda, and other ephemeral items published in Britain or its colonies from 1473 to 1800.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Nearly 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800 are included.
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
Full-text of all Commons sessional papers from 1688-2006.
Making of the Modern World
Provides full-text and full-page-image access to books from the 1460-1850 period, and pre-1906 serials. Focus is on economics interpreted in the widest sense, including political science, history, sociology, and special collections on banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing. World-wide coverage.
State Papers Online: the Government of Britain, 1509-1714
A collection of English government documents originating from the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries--when the King or Queen acted as Prime Minister as well as Monarch.