Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
EXPERT TIP: See also the Research Guides in "Arts & Humanities"
Oxford Art Online
Scholarly art encyclopedia. Best first place to go for all art topics. Signed articles and bibliography, includes images. Included in this database are Encyclopedia of Esthetics and Benezit Artists Biographical Index.
Art & Architecture Complete
Full-text of major art serials including some architecture. For art alone, Art Full Text is more comprehensive; for Architecture, Avery Index is more comprehensive.
Full-text access to U.S. and international newspapers, radio and television transcripts; 1980s-present. Excellent for art and performance reviews, exhibition critiques; donor announcements and art sales.
Index to 19th-century American Art Periodicals
Journal article (citations) for art periodicals published in the United States in the nineteenth century.
International humanities indexing source, strong on art.
Arts & Humanties Search (Web of Knowledge)
Immense database of citations (only) from humanitie sources. Unique in that it allows searching by article cited in a footnote. More difficult to use than other databases.
BHA and RILA
Closed database of arts periodicals, 1973-1989. Broad and comprehensive index for those range of years in the arts.