Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The links below conduct searches in the Duke's library catalog. The subject terms could also be used to search other library catalogs including WorldCat.
ATLA Religion Database
Indexes journals and book essays in religion and theology. Use the scripture button to search specific scriptures.
Bible in English
Contains twenty versions of the Bible in English from 990-1970.
BibleWorks (at Divinity School Library only)
A biblical concordance and morphological analysis program containing the full text of 44 versions of the Bible in English, Greek, Hebrew plus 9 other languages.
Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
A primary index for Roman Catholic journal articles, essays, book reviews and monographic literature; 1981 to date.
The Gottingen copy of the Gutenberg Bible, the Model Book and the Helmasperger Notarial Instrument are accompanied by explanatory texts about Gutenberg and his life, the early period of letterpress printing and its impact.
Ministry Matters provides a collection of commentaries, Bible dictionaries, and other reference works with which to prepare sermons, lessons, and research papers.
New Testament Abstracts
A standard work for finding abstracts for articles about the New Testament. Article coverage in the database dates back to 1985.
Packard Humanities Institute (PHI) Database (CD-ROM only)
The 2 cds contain Latin and Bible texts from the Center for the Computer Analysis of Text at the University of Pennsylvania, the Duke Data Bank of Documentary Papyri, and texts in Arabic and Coptic.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG)
The database permits full-text searching of almost all Greek texts in critical editions of the original Greek from the 8th century BCE through 200 CE.
Society of Biblical Literature Text-Critical Resources Web Page
On this web page, members who log in will find the reading text (the upper text without critical apparatus) of four GBS editions available in several file formats, including downloadable PDFs and texts viewable via a GBS online platform:
• Biblia Hebraica Stuttgartensia, 5th revised edition
• Septuaginta, edited by Alfred Rahlfs, 2nd revised edition
• Biblical Sacra luxta Vulgatam Versionem, 5th revised edition
• UBS Greek New Testament, 4th revised edition
Also available on this web page are links to the SBL Fonts and the SBL Greek New Testament.
Anchor Bible Dictionary by
Call Number: Ref BS440 .A54 1992 at Divinity and Perkins
New Testament exegesis : a handbook for students and pastors by
Call Number: Ref and Stacks BS2331 .F44 2002 at Divinity
Novum Testamentum Graece
Call Number: Ref and Stacks BS1965 2001 at Divinity
Gospel parallels : a comparison of the synoptic gospels : with alternative readings from the manuscripts and noncanonical parallels by
Call Number: Ref and Stacks BS2560 .T48 1992 at Divinity
Theological dictionary of the New Testament [Kittel]
Call Number: Ref BS2312 .K5813 1964 at Divinity