Skip to main content
Newspapers - Western Europe
Search this Guide
Newspapers - Western Europe: Recommended Databases
Western Europe Newspapers Recommended Databases
Portal to Historic Austrian Newspapers
Provides access to news and current event sources from North America, Latin America, and Europe
Contains 2 million digital objects from European libraries, archives, museums, and special collections; includes historic newspapers.
Covers national and international news; search builder identifies sources by country.
Gallica: la bibliothèque numérique
Contains historic newspapers in addition to full-text books and serials covering the cultural history of France.
Guardian and Observer
Provides access to facts, firsthand accounts, and opinions of the day from the past 200 years.
Indexes international multidisciplinary academic periodical literature in the humanities and social sciences.
Links to past, present, and prospective digitization projects of historic newspapers
Illustrated London news historical archive, 1842-2003
Provides access to the entire run of the Illustrated London News from its first publication on 14 May 1842 to its last in 2003.
Provides full text access to a wide range of U.S. and international newspapers, radio and television transcripts. Use the source search for publications from a specific country.
Newspaper Source Plus
Provides cover-to-cover full text for 149 national & international newspapers
Archive of the weekly news journal „Der Spiegel“ from 1947 to the present.
Times digital archive, 1785-1985
Provides access to historic digital edition of newspaper
World news connection
Offers translated and English language news and information compiled from non-United States media sources
Links to German language digitized newspapers
Archive of the weekly newspaper „Die Zeit“ 1946 to the present
Medieval & Renaissance Studies
Western European Studies
Jan 11, 2018 1:12 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
french and francophone studies resources
italian studies resources
411 Chapel Drive
Durham, NC 27708
Perkins Library Service Desk
Faculty & Instructors
Patrons with Disabilities
Re-use & Attribution
Support the Libraries