Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Print/Microform Primary Sources
An historical survey of the island of Saint Domingo : together with an account of the Maroon Negroes in the island of Jamaica...
Edwards, Bryan, 1743-1800. (London : Printed for John Stockdale ..., 1801.)
Primary Sources Online
Century Collections Online (ECCO)
- Nearly 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701
and 1800 are included.
and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries
100,000 pages of published letters and diaries written from the 1500s to 1900s,
plus several thousand pages of previously unpublished materials.
- Colonial State Papers
provides access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in
the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth
and eighteenth centuries.
of Commons Parliamentary Papers
Full text of the Sessional
Papers from the 18th Century to the present.
Century Journals II
Journals from the Harry Ransom Humanities
Research Center collection of 17th and 18th century newspapers and periodicals
Full-text database containing primary source documents
about the British Empire.
- 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
Full-text access to the British Library's collection of the newspapers,
pamphlets, and booksgathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817)
- Slavery, Abolition, and Social Justice, 1490-2007
This digital collection documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries.
- British History Online
Full text of primary sources including the Calendars of State Papers.