Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Key Article Databases
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from scholarly journals in all areas of research
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Searches for journal articles and books in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, and energy
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search a collection of important scholarly journals representing a range of disciplines.
CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Search for articles related to agriculture, environment, veterinary sciences, plant sciences, mycology and parasitology, food science, human health and nutrition
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles in political science and public policy
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Search for international literature in sociology and related social and behavioral sciences disciplines
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Find law review articles, primary source materials, and government documents
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Search for news, business, legal, medical, and congressional information. Note: formerly named Lexis Nexis Academic.
Earth Stewardship by
Publication Date: 2015-03-26
This book advances Earth Stewardship toward a planetary scale, presenting a range of ecological worldviews, practices, and institutions in different parts of the world and to use them as the basis for considering what we could learn from one another, and what we could do together.
Introducing Just Sustainabilities by
Publication Date: 2013-05-09
Introducing Just Sustainabilities discusses key topics, such as food justice, sovereignty and urban agriculture; community, space, place(making), and spatial justice; the democratization of our streets and public spaces; how to create culturally inclusive spaces; intercultural cities and social inclusion; green-collar jobs and the just transition; and alternative economic models, such as co-production.
Liberty and the Ecological Crisis by
Publication Date: 2019-12-20
This book examines the concept of liberty in relation to civilization's ability to live within ecological limits.
The Routledge Handbook of Environmental Justice by
Publication Date: 2017-09-19
The Routledge Handbook of Environmental Justice presents an extensive and cutting-edge introduction to the diverse, rapidly growing body of research on pressing issues of environmental justice and injustice.
Sustainable Communities and the Challenge of Environmental Justice by
Publication Date: 2005-08-01
In this book, Julian Agyeman argues that environmental justice and the sustainable communities movement are compatible in practical ways. Yet sustainability, which focuses on meeting our needs today while not compromising the ability of our successors to meet their needs, has not always partnered with the challenges of environmental justice.
A user-friendly interface for working with US census data
An easy interface for viewing and mapping US census data
From the EPA: provides geospatial data, easy-to-use tools, and other resources related to ecosystem services, their stressors, and human health.
An entry point for multiple international statistics databases
Other data sources
A searchable list of other data sources that are subscribed to by Duke University Libraries or open access