Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Web Oya bunko: WebOya indexes periodicals held by the Ōya Sōichi bunko, a private library in Tokyo with a comprehensive collection of popular journals reflecting popular culture in Japan. Coverage dates from the Meiji era (1895?). Also indexes advertisements.
Ōya Sōichi bunko zasshi kiji sakuin sōmokuroku:
大宅壮一文庫雑誌記事索引総目録。人名編；件名編 13 vols.
- Jinmei hen
EA Ref: AI19.J3 O9 1985
- Kenmei hen
EA Ref: AI19.J3 O9 1985a
- Jinmei hen 1988-95
EA Ref: AI19.J3 O9 1997
The index to the premier collection of popular magazines. The 1985 edition indexes 48,180 people and 395,654 events published in 240,000 journals from the Meiji era to the end of 1984. There is a 50,000 word index to the subject index.
Guides to the Study of Popular Culture
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Japanese Culture
Call Number: Perkins Ref: DS822.5 .E516 2002
Entries cover literature, film, architecture, food, health, politics, economics, religion and technology, and range from shorter definitions, histories or biographies to longer essays treating major issues and ideas in depth. Entries are signed. A-Z format. Includes cross references and suggestions for further reading.
The Otaku Encyclopedia by
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
Taishū bunka jiten = Encyclopedia of popular culture 大衆文化事典
Call Number: EA Ref: DS821 .T24 1991
Written by 300 specialists, the dictionary aims at a broad understanding of mass (popular) culture in the 19th and 20th centuries. Covers folk culture and customs, popular music, movies, performing arts, games, comics, fashion, crimes, consumer life etc. Each entry is signed and has suggestions for further reading and a link to a table at the end of the volume. Includes a bibliography of 8500 titles related to popular culture. Subject and personal names indexes in Japanese and other languages. Well illustrated.
Librarian for Japanese Studies