Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History 177: The Meanings of Freedom in American History, 1776-1877: Getting Started

Need Help? Chat with a Librarian

Finding Background Information: Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Why use an encyclopedia? The Duke University Libraries provide access to hundreds of subject-specific encyclopedias, containing articles written by experts. Encyclopedias can be excellent resources for providing overviews, brainstorming topics, and identifying keywords to use searches.

 Online Reference Collections

ABC-CLIO ebook Collection, formerly History Reference Online, is an online collection of hundreds of history reference titles published by ABC-Clio. This is a fantastic resource, which can be browsed by subject categories or full-text searched by keyword. 

 Oxford Reference Online provides access to a selection of reference titles.  The database homepage displays a listing of all the accessible titles. so you can quickly identify the ones that pertain to U.S. history.

Blackwell Reference Online is an online collection of the well regarded Blackwell companions.  You can browse by subject, search the entire collection, or search within a specific work.

Looking for a specific title?

In the online catalog, add the term encyclopedia to your keyword search. For example, the search american revolution encyclopedia results in a number of possibilities including:

 


 

 

 

 

 

Your Librarian

Kelley Lawton's picture
Kelley Lawton
Contact:
114 Lilly Library
919-660-5990

Your Librarian

Carson Holloway's picture
Carson Holloway
Contact:
Librarian for Military History, History of Science and Technology, Britain, Ireland and Commonwealth



Perkins and Lilly Libraries

919-660-5997

email: carson.holloway@duke.edu