Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History 190S: A Global History of Domestic Violence and Spousal Murder: Getting Started

Introduction

Finding appropriate research materials can be complex. This course guide site brings together a variety of resources available at Duke and online in order to facilitate your research. And if you get stuck, need a starting point, or just have a question, please don't hesitate to contact your course librarian, Danette Pachtner

For additional resources and help you might contact these library experts:
Holly Ackerman, Latin American Studies
Kelley Lawton, U.S. History
International research librararians

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias and other Reference sources are a great place to start for choosing and refining your topic

Murder cases of the twentieth century : biographies and bibliographies of 280 convicted or accused killers
Lilly Reference & Perkins/Bostock Reference

Encyclopedia of domestic violence
Perkins/Bostock Reference

Encyclopedia of interpersonal violence
Perkins/Bostock Reference

Encyclopedia of African American history, 1896 to the present : from the age of segregation to the twenty-first century
Lilly Reference & Perkins/Bostock Reference

Social Science Encyclopedia
Lilly Reference & Perkins/Bostock Reference
See entries on Incest, Violence, etc.

Social Issues in America: an Encyclopedia
Lilly Reference

Encyclopedia of Women’s Autobiography

Perkins/Bostock Reference

Encyclopedia of Women’s History in America
Lilly Reference & Perkins/Bostock Reference

Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women: Global Women’s Issues and Knowledge
Perkins/Bostock Reference

Notable American Women: A Biographical Dictionary Completing the Twentieth Century
Perkins/Bostock Library & Perkins, Lilly, Divinity and Special Collections Reference
Full text available in Credo Reference.

Women, a Modern Political Dictionary
Library Service Center

Women’s Studies Encyclopedia
Lilly and Perkins/Bostock Reference

Historical Dictionary of Feminism
Lilly Reference & Perkins/Bostock Reference

Online reference sources

Librarian for Women's Studies

Danette Pachtner's picture
Danette Pachtner
Contact:
My location:
Lilly Library
Room 108
East Campus
Email me:
danettep@duke.edu
Call me:
919.660.5886
My areas:
Film, Video & Digital Media; Women's Studies; Southgate Residence Hall