LibGuides: French and Francophone Studies: Reference Works

Language Dictionaries and Learning

Grand Robert de la langue francaise This link opens in a new window
Search for background information on the French language. Covers the etymology, history, pronunciation, and usage of French words

Word Reference

Transparent Language Online This link opens in a new window
Find language learning materials on over 80 languages

Historic Dictionaries

ARTFL Dictionarium latinogallicum //Dictionnaire de l'Académie Française//Dictionnaire de la langue française////Dictionnaire historique et critique//Encyclopédie, ou Dictionnaire raisonné des sciences, des arts et des métiers//Le grand dictionnaire historique//Thrésor de la langue françoyse, tant ancienne que moderne
Dictionnaires d'autrefois
Dictionnaire des synonymes
Encyclopedia of Diderot and d'Alembert
Grand dictionnaire terminologique
Leximagne
Trésor de la Langue Française informatisé

Biography

Biography (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Search for biographical information on historic figures
Biography Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Search for full-text biographies
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Find biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses for authors.
World Biographical Information System Online (WBIS Online) This link opens in a new window
WBIS Online is the most comprehensive biographical database available, providing biographical information on over 6 Million people from the 8th century B.C. to the present. Included are 8.5 Million digital facsimile articles from biographical reference works

Print Sources: Biography and Literary History

This page provides a selection of titles on French literary history. To find more, do a subject search in the Duke Catalog using the terms:

French literature -- History and criticism

Adam, Antoine.
Littérature française.
Paris, Larousse, 1967-68.
Perkins/Bostock Library | Reference | PQ101 .A3 1967

Boisdeffre, Pierre de.
Histoire de la littérature de langue française des années 1930 aux années 1980.
Paris : Libr. academique Perrin, 1985.
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | PQ305 .B56 1985

Bedier, Joseph, and Paul Hazard.
Histoire de la littérature française illustrée.
Published Paris, Larousse, [c1923-24]
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks Oversize | 840.9 B412 In process-LC
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | 840.9 H673 L In process-LC

Charvet, P. E.
A Literary history of France.
Published London, Benn; New York, Barnes & Noble, 1967-
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | 840.9 L776

Couty, Daniel.
Histoire de la littérature française.
Edition Nouv. éd.
Published Paris : Bordas, 2004.
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | PQ116 .H57 2004

Favre, Robert.
La littérature française : histoire & perspectives.
Published Lyon : Presses universitaires de Lyon, 1990.
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | PQ101 .L57 1990

Histoire de la littérature française.
Paris, Larousse, [c1923-24]
Vol. 1 Le Moyen Age. Robert Bossuat; not at Duke
Vol. 2-3 La Renaissance. Raoul Morçay;
Vol. 4 Les Ecrivains Classiques. Henri Gaillard de Champris;
Vol. 5 La Littérature Religieuse de François de Sales à Fénelon. Jean Calvet;
Vol. 6 De Télémaque à Candide. Albert Cherel;
Vol. 7 De Candide à Atala. Henri Berthaut;
Vol. 8 Le Romantisme. Pierre Moreau;
Vol. 9 Le Realisme. René Dumesnil;
Vol. 10 Les Lettres Contemporaines. Louis Chaigne.
Various Locations check the Duke Catalog

Histoire littéraire de la France. [serial].
Published Paris, Imprimerie nationale [etc.] 43 volumes, started in 1733, work in progress.
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | PQ103 .H578

Hollier, Denis.
A New history of French literature.
Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard University Press, 1989.
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | PQ119 .N48 1989
Perkins/Bostock Library: Reference | PQ119 .N48 1989

Julleville, L. Petit de.
Histoire de la langue et de la littérature française des origines à 1900.
Paris, A. Colin & cie, 1896-99.
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | PQ101 .P5 1896

Kay, Sarah.
A short history of French literature.
Published Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2003.
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | PQ119 .K39 2003

Lanson, Gustave.
Histoire illustrée de la Littérature Française.
Perkins/Bostock Library | f840.9 L295 t.1 c.2

Lanson, Gustave, 1857-1934.
Histoire de la littérature française.
Published Paris : Hachette, c1951 (1985 printing)
Perkins/Bostock Library:
Stacks | PQ101 .L3 1951a

Lemaître, Henri, 1912-
La littérature française [par] Henri Lemaître.
Published [Paris] Bordas [1970-72]
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | PQ101 .L4 1970

Pichois, Claude.
Littérature française.
Published [Paris] : Arthaud, 1968-
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | 840.9 L777K In process-LC

Beaumarchais, Jean-Pierre de.
Dictionnaire des oeuvres littéraires de langue française.
Paris : Bordas, 1994.
Perkins/Bostock Library | Reference | PQ41 .D573 1994

Eva Martin Sartori and Dorothy Wynne Zimmerman.
French women writers : a bio-bibliographical source book.
New York : Greenwood Press, 1991.
Perkins/Bostock Library | Reference | PQ149 .F73 1991

France, Peter.
The New Oxford companion to literature in French.
Oxford [England] : Clarendon Press ; New York : Oxford University Press, 1995.
Lilly Library | Reference | 840.3 N532, 1995
Perkins/Bostock Library | Carpenter Reading Room | PQ41 .N48 1995
Perkins/Bostock Library | Reference | PQ41 .N48 1995

Levi, Anthony.
Guide to French literature : beginnings to 1789.
Detroit : St. James Press, c1994.
Perkins/Bostock Library | Reference | PQ41 .L49 1994

Levi, Anthony.
Guide to French literature : 1789 to the present.
Chicago : St. James Press, c1992.
Perkins/Bostock Library | Reference | PQ41 .L48 1992

more literary history

Balteau, J.
Dictionnaire de biographie française.
Paris, Letouzey et Ane, 1933-
Perkins/Bostock Library | Reference | CT143 .D5 1933

Kunitz, Stanley J.
Twentieth century authors : a biographical dictionary of modern literature.
New York: Wilson, 1955.
Perkins/Bostock Library | Stacks | 928 K96T, Suppl. 1

Kunitz, Stanley J.
European authors, 1000-1900 : a biographical dictionary of European literature.
New York : Wilson, 1967
Lilly Library | Reference | 920 K96E
Perkins/Bostock Library | Reference | PN451 .K8 1967

Lafitte, J.
Who’s who in France.
Perkins/Bostock Library: Reference | CT1000 .W467
Also found in Lexis Nexis Academic

Wakeman, John
World authors.
New York: Wilson, 1975-
Lilly Library | Reference | 809.04 W927Ax
Perkins/Bostock Library | Reference | PN451 .N66

Biography index.
[v.] 1- Jan. 1946/July 1949-
New York : H.W. Wilson, 1949-
Lilly Library | Room 113 | 016.92 B615
Perkins/Bostock Library | Reference | CT104 .B5647

Biographie universelle, ancienne et moderne.
Paris, Michaud freres [etc.] 1811-62.
Perkins/Bostock Library | Stacks | CT143 .M5 1811

Dictionary of Literary Biography
Literature Resource Center (esp. vol. 65: French Novelists, 1900-1930; vol. 72: French Novelists, 1930-1960; vol. 83: French Novelists since 1960, and vol. 119: Nineteenth century French fiction writers, vol. 123 19th century French Fiction Writers; vol. 192: French Dramatists 1789-1914, vol. 208: French and Occitan Middle Ages; vol. 217: 19th century French poets, vol. 258: Modern French Poets, vol. 268: 17th century French writers, vol. 301: Gustave Flaubert).

Dictionnaire biographique des auteurs de tous les temps et de tous les pays.
Paris: S. E. D. E. [1957-58, c1956] 2 volumes.
Library Service Center: 928 D554 LSC

Nouvelle biographie générale depuis les temps les plus reculés jusqu'à nos jours, avec les renseignements bibliographiques et l'indication des sources à consulter.
Paris, Firmin Didot frères, fils et cie, 1853-66
Perkins/Bostock Library | Stacks | CT143 .H5 1853

Histories - Print

For historical research, please consult the World History Guide at Duke

To find more books on French history, search the Duke Catalog for the subject: France - History

Agulhon, Maurice.
The French Republic, 1879-1992.
Oxford, UK ; Cambridge, Mass., USA : B. Blackwell, 1993.
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | DC335 .A3813 1993.

Ardagh, John.
France today.
A new and rev. ed. of France in the 1980’s.
London, England : Penguin Books ; New York, N.Y., USA : Viking Penguin, 1988, c1987.
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | HC276.2 .A72x 1988

Baubérot, J.
L’Histoire religieuse de la France, 19e-20e siècle : problèmes et méthodes.
Paris : Beauchesne, c1975.
Divinity School Library: Stacks | 209.44 H673

Braudel, Fernand.
Histoire économique et sociale de la France.
Paris : Presses universitaires de France, 1970-c1982.
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | HC273 .H57 1970

Burguière, Andre.
Choix culturels et mémoire.
Paris : Editions du Seuil, c2000.
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | DC33 .C56 2000

Castelot, André.
Histoires de France.
[Paris] : Perrin, c2001-c2002.
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | DC148 .C38 2001

Cholvy, Gérard.
Histoire religieuse de la France contemporaine.
Published Toulouse : Privat, c1985-1988.
Divinity School Library: Stacks | 274.408 C547, H673, 1985

Cobban, Alfred.
A history of modern France.
New ed., rev. and enl.
Published New York, Braziller [1965]
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | DC110 .C57 1965

Charlton, D.G. ed.
France: a companion to French studies.
2d ed. London ; New York : Methuen ; c1979.
Perkins/Bostock Library:Stacks | DC33 .F736 1979   .

Cipolla, Carlo M. Ed.
The Fontana economic history of Europe.
Published Hassocks, Sussex, England : Havester Press : New York : Barnes & Noble, 1976-1977.
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | HC240 .F583 1976

Dujarric, Gaston, 1859-
Précis chronologique d’histoire de France, des origines à nos jours.
Nouvelle édition revue et mise à jour par Yves D. Papin.
Paris, A. Michel, [1966, c1960]
Library Service Center: | 944.002 D876PA LSC

Favier, Jean.
Histoire de France.
[Paris] : Fayard, c1984-c1988.
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | DC38 .H478 1984

Ferro, Marc.
Histoire de France.
Paris : O. Jacob, c2001.
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | DC38 .F47 2001

Foreign Government Resources on the Web

University of Michigan Library

Gallo, Max.
L’âme de la France : une histoire de la nation des origines à nos jours.
[Paris?] : Fayard, c2007.
Perkins/Bostock Library:Stacks | DC38 .G358 2007

In the series: Histoire de France Hachette. Paris: Hachette, 1987-1991.

Furet, François.
La Révolution : de Turgot à Jules Ferry, 1770-1880.
Histoire de France Hachette. 1988.
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | DC110 .F874 1988
Duby, Georges.
Le Moyen Age : de Hugues Capet à Jeanne d’Arc, 987-146.
Histoire de France Hachette. 1987
Library Service Center: |944.02 D821, M938, 1987 LSC
Le Roy Ladurie, Emmanuel.
L’Etat royal : de Louis XI à Henri IV, 1460-1610.
Histoire de France Hachette. 1987
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | DC106 .L35 1987

Histoire de la France coloniale. Paris: Armand Colin, c1990-c1991. 2 v.

Haine, W. Scott.
The history of France.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2000.
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | 944 H152, H673, 2000 In process-LC
Lilly Library: Reference | 944 H152, H673, 2000

Knecht, R. J. (Robert Jean)
The rise and fall of Renaissance France.
2nd ed.Oxford ; Malden, Mass. : Blackwell, 2001.
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | DC110 .K64 2001

Le Roy Ladurie, Emmanuel.
L’Ancien Régime.
Paris : Hachette, c1991.
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | DC121 .L47 1991

New approaches to European History. Cambridge, England: Cambridge University Press, 1993- .

The New Cambridge modern history.
Cambridge [Eng.] University Press, 1957-1979.
Perkins/Bostock Library: Reference | D208 .N4 1957

Price, Roger, 1944 Jan. 7- 4
A concise history of France.
Cambridge concise histories.2nd. Ed. Cambridge, UK ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2005.
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | DC38 .P75 2005

Postan, M. M. and H.J. Habakkuk.
The Cambridge economic history of Europe.
Edition 2nd ed. Cambridge University Press, 1966-
Library Service Center: 330.94 C178A LSC
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | HC240 .C312 1966

Rioux, Jean-Pierre.
Histoire culturelle de la France.
Paris : Editions du Seuil, c1997-
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | DC33 .H555 199

Robertson, Priscilla Smith.
An experience of women : pattern and change in nineteenth-century.
Philadelphia : Temple University Press, 1982.
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | HQ1588 .R6 1982

Sowerwine, Charles, 1943-
France since 1870 : culture, politics and society.
Houndmills, Basingstoke ; New York : Palgrave, 2001.
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | DC335 .S66 2001

Tilley, Arthur Augustus.
Modern France; a companion to French studies.
Cambridge [Eng.] The University press, 1922.
Library Service Center: | DC110 .T5 1922 LSC

Tombs, Robert.
France, 1814-1914.
London ; New York : Longman, 1996.
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | DC251 .T65 1996

Verrière, Jacques.
Genèse de la nation française.
[Paris] : Flammarion, c2000.
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | DC34 .V47 2000

Wright, Gordon.
France in modern times : from the Enlightenment to the present.
3rd ed. New York : Norton, c1981.
Perkins/Bostock Library: Stacks | DC110 .W7 1981